Going with the flow

It was  a lovely day in Toronto today.  I have so much on the go, especially my CELTA course, and the only thing on my mind is sleep.  I know that once this course ends on March 25th I’ll be able to get a little breather.  Of course, after this breather comes the second phase of our move.  Yes, the packing of all the other stuff that wasn’t packed for the sale of my condo.

I admit I dread it.  Really.  It’s all the bits and bobs of daily life that need to be put in boxes and shipped across the ocean.  I have thoughts that boxes won’t be labelled correctly and that once we arrive in France there I’ll be, in the kitchen, looking for my favourite ladle/spoon/cutting board/thingamajiggy and I’ll have no clue where it is.  Why?  Because I’m tired and because a tired brain can think of nothing but getting something done and over with.

And this brings me to the move in general.  D sent me a text message this morning.  He’s in Cannes for a conference — yes, lucky devil! — and wonder of all wonders, the powers that be think that they may want him in Paris.  They will be putting a formal offer on the table.  Decisions, decisions…  Y’see, we have our hearts set on Nice.  “Nice is where I would choose to live” is what D says.  I agree with him…sort of anyway.  I don’t know Nice other than what I’ve heard and the photos I’ve seen.  Who can say no to the sea and the sunshine?  Certainly not me, a transplanted Jamaican.

I told D that we just need to keep to the plan.  Oh, it doesn’t mean that he’ll tell them that Paris is out of the question.  It does mean, however, that he knows what he’s bargaining with and how much he’s worth.  As for me?  I will just go with the flow.  After all, he will be the main breadwinner in the family and, while this is a dream for me (to live in France) I will be there because of him.  Life will be wonderful whether we’re in Paris or Nice.

Tags:

Categories: changes

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Going with the flow”

  1. March 18, 2010 at 3:05 AM #

    Sounds like exciting times for you! Will keep my fingers crossed. I’m sure you will love either Nice or Paris, both are wonderful!

Leave a Reply

