Jamaican-French Connection

I went to bed really late last night.  It was already morning, actually, when I went to bed.  When D travels I usually wait up until I receive a text message from him saying that he’s landed safely.  That’s all fine and good when he travels to Houston or Chicago.  The transatlantic flights, however, have me staying up until after midnight.  (I haven’t yet forgiven Air France for changing their schedule on us.  Flights from Toronto now arrive in Paris around 2 am ET.)  D arrived in Luxembourg this morning after a 3-hour stop in Amsterdam.  He texted to say that he reached Amsterdam fine; this was at 1:30 am.  I’m a bit of a mess this morning as a result.  I’m tired and cranky and should be packing the spare room.  Added to this is the fact that I have to make my own coffee.  Oh, I know it’s not difficult but I never ever make the coffee.  That’s D’s job and he does a mighty fine job I might add.  Mmm, warm frothed milk and sometimes he sprinkles a little cocoa on top.  It makes breakfast a lovely way to start the day.

This morning is different of course.  I’m alone and I’m the one making the coffee.  I love the smell of coffee.  It’s so rich and warm and inviting.  D used the last of the coffee he brought from France.  He chuckled yesterday when he said “you’ll have to grind some of that other stuff”.  (He is completely French and anything not French may not be good…unless it really is quite good and doesn’t exist in France or isn’t made in France or by the French.)  Little does D know that I have a stash of Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee in the freezer.  (This is one of the things that he had to admit is pretty amazing.  The other is Jamaican rum.)

I am late in having breakfast — I started with some packing first — but it’s a clash of cultures.  My lovely, rich, and flavourful Jamaican coffee with a pain au chocolat.  Can life get any better?

Tags:

Categories: food

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Jamaican-French Connection”

  1. April 17, 2010 at 10:26 AM #

    Yep, it can. That will be the day when the boxes are unpacked in Nice and you are enjoying your Jamaican coffee and a pain au chocolat!

    • April 17, 2010 at 11:02 AM #

      LOL! I am looking forward to the unpacking, I can tell you that much.

Leave a Reply

