T-minus 11

Yes, eleven days!

I am a little psyched and a little worried.  Thank goodness my mom will be here tomorrow to help me pack.  I had to change my packing plans too.  I decided to work on the kitchen and get all the smaller items out of the way.  I figure that as I have the energy and the momentum I would tackle the kitchen and the pantry.  Once that’s done, the larger pieces such as the sofa and the bed will be packed.  After a mini break for a dinner of Thai food I’ve made some serious progress.  This makes me feel a little better.  I think the full stomach helped too.  The pantry is now empty of all the foodstuff.  I have only two pots and six jars left in the pantry.  The wine glasses and other speciality glasses have been packed away too.  My lovely stash of épices and condiments has been safely tucked away too.  How funny it is to pack my herbes de provence for a trip back to France.

This may be an obvious statement but I’m excited to go back to France.  I’m not referring to our move this time.  Sure, I seriously love Paris but I’m also extremely fond of the village where D’s parents live.  The village, Coustellet, has a lovely marché.  (I understand that quite a few tourists visit the area during the warmer months and you’re likely to hear American, Irish, and English accents mixed in with the French.  Note: you may be mistaken for a tourist and therefore receive tourist prices.)

It was at this market that D first bought a delicious treat for me: nougat.  We also indulge in confiture artisanale which became gifts to friends and family.  In 2008, I visited France four times:  April, June, September, and December.  During three of those visits the market was open and we visited our “usual” confiture stand.  While there in June, the gentleman at the confiture stand recognized us and, well, buying jam elsewhere would be like cheating.  I can’t wait to tell le monsieur that we’re not going back to Toronto but that we’re going home to Nice.

Tags: , ,

Categories: food, packing

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “T-minus 11”

  1. April 17, 2010 at 10:38 AM #

    Are you shipping everything you own over there? Is this costing a lot to do as I was wondering if it would be cheaper to just keep important pieces and start over?

    • April 17, 2010 at 11:05 AM #

      I’m shipping most of my stuff. From what I understand it’s not cheap to buy furniture there. I didn’t compare costs as the pieces I’m keeping are important ones anyway. You may end up spending the same amount as if you just shipped the stuff in the first place. Re: shipping the items, it’s the cost of the freight itself that is expensive. If you can pack the items yourself you may save a few bucks.

Leave a Reply

