This way to progress

Success is mine!  I’m happy to say that the kitchen was packed last night.  Until you start packing your kitchen stuff you never really know how much stuff there is.  Pots, pans, flatware, tableware…everything was put into boxes yesterday and packed away.

I had already packed away the non-perishable food that was in the pantry when my mother arrived yesterday afternoon.  She packed all the knickknacks and decor items in the living room while I packed the wine glasses.  Oh yes, I must have my wine and champagne glasses in France!

Mom worked in the kitchen while I packed our bar ware.  Yes, D and I are serious about our drink.  We’re not alcoholics but D, who previously was just a wine for all occasions guy, is now into cocktails.  Lucky for me that he now makes a mighty fine gin & tonic and a really good mojito.  I think he really just loves using all his shiny bar tools.

As a result of all the bending and lifting I am now sore and achy all over.  We stopped packing last night and I woke up at 7:30 am just to see my mother off to work.  Then it was back to bed; I got out of bed at 9:30.

Needless to say, I feel really good about things now.  My deadline to have everything packed is Sunday.  I know that I’ll be able to get everything packed by then.  Once the packing is done I’ll be able to refocus on the wedding details and leave things in the coordinator’s hands while we’re away in the summer.

As for my visa, well, we’ll tackle that after we’re married.  The process is slightly different for la conjointe étrangère (me, the wife of a French national) and the application is way shorter too.  I am able to stay in France for up to 90 days without a visa so, until I receive my visa, I will make a few regular trips to Toronto.  The upside:  air miles!

Tags: ,

Categories: moving, packing

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

