Looking back and looking forward

What a day!

Part of me is extremely happy and satisfied with all that I’ve done over the past few days.  Most of the packing is done and I’m sure everything will be ready by move out day.  The other part of me is starting to get a little sad actually.  I took down all the art from the walls this evening.  As I sit here typing I’m looking around at the bare walls of the apartment.  It’s as though the apartment has no personality now and there is nothing left of my life in this apartment.  All our ‘stuff’ will find a new home in Nice but it will be strange to see our furniture in a different space.

So yes, I am sad.  I recently gave up my first major purchase:  a 14-year-old dark blue VW Jetta.  I loved this car, especially with the sunroof open during the summer.  I secretly cried when they came to take her away.  I feel the same way about this apartment.  This was my first foray into real estate.  September would have been 5 years here but it is time to take this next step.  So, that part of me is sad because a lot who I’ve grown to be is tied to this 900+ sq ft apartment.

Looking down - Arc de Triomphe

The next stop on this journey is Paris.  I can’t wait to be in Paris again and it will be a mini vacation.  I thank Sion and Shane for their great tips/itineraries on what to see/where to go in Paris.  I know I can’t see everything in one week but I’ll have some time, while D attends his meetings, to see at least one part of Paris I’ve never seen before.

Tags:

Categories: changes, moving, packing

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “Looking back and looking forward”

  1. April 21, 2010 at 2:49 AM #

    Hi Tanya, WOW! Things are really moving quickly now for you aren’t they!

    I felt the same when we were packing to move to France from our first house in the UK, it was a strange feeling even though we were absolutely desperate to get to France. Removing art from the walls and selling of larger pieces you’re not taking with you has a sense of finality doesn’t it?

    I saw you ate Thai food the other day, do you happen to be a fan?

    Good luck with the rest of the packing and preparations, not long now?

    • April 21, 2010 at 10:47 AM #

      Yes, this phase is coming to an end. We leave for Paris on May 10 and will be there for about a week before heading south. As for Thai food, yes, I am a fan. What are the chances I’ll find a (good) Thai restaurant in Nice…?

  2. April 21, 2010 at 4:23 AM #

    The day the art comes down. That was the toughest for me too. I was not able to bring my things with me, so what I kept, I put in storage. Except for my favorite pieces of art. Those are now on loan to several friends and it makes me feel good to know when my friends see them everyday, a part of me is with them too. The amazing thing about leaving your home and the sadness that surrounds the experience, is how quickly the new place becomes “home”. You’re on your way, Tanya!

    Have a wonderful vacation in Paris. Keep us posted…the sites, the smells…everything!

    • April 21, 2010 at 10:41 AM #

      Yes, it’s a bare apartment now but the excitement lives. I can’t wait to be in Paris — I miss that city — and I can’t wait to find our new “home”. Thanks for your positive words.

  3. April 21, 2010 at 10:40 AM #

    I am glad you have found my blog informative and has given you some things to check out when you are in Paris.

    There is something that is sad about moving on from a place you have loved and has been your home but remember that art will find a new home on new walls, in a new city and in a new country.

    • April 21, 2010 at 10:50 AM #

      Your walks are very detailled and I want to give one a try. I’ll let you know how it goes. As for me the exciting part will be seeing our old stuff in a new place/new context.

Leave a Reply

