Dreaming of Paris

One word:  exhaustion.  My entire body is exhausted and my brain hurts.

For some crazy reason I felt that it was is wise to have everything completed by Sunday (April 25th).  I know I will make this deadline but I think I’ll need a vacation after everything is said and done.  And a drink.

Right now I just want it all to end.  I’m tired of the boxes.  I’m tired of the sheets of wrapping paper.  I’m truly sick and tired of the paper cuts.  The skin on my hands look like alligator skin and yes, I’m tired of that too.  The upside is that by packing our items myself we saved a considerable amount of money.  Sure, the moving company could have supplied a few big, beefy guys to dismantle the bed and to move that huge bookcase but then I’d have to oversee it all.  There would have been questions too and that would have annoyed me to no end.

I caution myself against looking beyond what I need to do before leaving.  It is easy to get caught up in the fantasy of it all.  The reality doesn’t seem to be as much fun as the dream but, in order to live  the dream, the work must be done first.  Tomorrow will be another day for packing and daydreaming.

So, instead of tackling the bed and the dresser I’m sitting on the floor dreaming of Paris.  D called me from a phone booth while he was on a walk today.  The weather, he said, was quite good and he was happy to be outside.  He also wanted to share a moment with me near the Arc de Triomphe.  The last time we were in Paris together he proposed to me at the top.  It was a very cold night in January but it’s my favourite memory of Paris.  Ah, Paris. Les français, l’amour…

Tags:

Categories: Paris

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Dreaming of Paris”

  1. April 24, 2010 at 3:19 AM #

    What a romantic way to propose! Bon courage, Tanya, you’ll be in France before you know it now!

    • April 24, 2010 at 12:14 PM #

      It was truly romantic and I can’t wait to be back in Paris. I am now counting the days — I arrive in Paris on May 11th — and I am super excited.

  2. April 26, 2010 at 7:43 PM #

    Beuatiful…..yes there is stress in moving and packing but just think of the excitement when you get to open up all those boxes in Paris and you give your things a new home!!!

Leave a Reply

