It’s moving day

The day is finally here.

I’m sitting at our former dining table — the sofa is wrapped like a huge Christmas present — and I have nothing to do.  Literally.  Nothing.  Okay, I could clean the bathrooms while I wait for the movers but I seriously do not have the energy for it.  Just the thought of doing anything makes my head hurt and my stomach churn.  (Maybe it’s the bad coffee that’s making my stomach churn.  Blech.)

I keep walking around the condo checking to see if anything was missed, if I forgot to wrap or box something.  Nope.  Everything that needs to go has been duly wrapped or boxed.  Good job.

The decision now is when are we leaving for France.  D found out that he may have to be in Paris for a meeting on May 5th.  We were scheduled to leave on May 10th.  D figures that he’ll change our tickets and leave on May 3rd instead.  This is a little relief really.  Although I love my mother dearly I wasn’t really looking forward to ‘living’ with her for 10 days.  I think it’s more the fact that I’d like to get this going.

Speaking of going, the movers are here.  I received a nice compliment from one of the guys.  He was surprised to learn that I packed everything (essentially) on my own.  He also liked the way I had wrapped the sofa.  (I do admit that it looks pretty darn good.)  I am woman; hear me roar!

The next part of this packing/moving process involves an inventory of all the boxes.  This means that each box will need to be identified not by the room in which they belong but by the contents.  As the mover says, this isn’t to be a specific inventory of the contents of each box.  Rather, a general idea (clothes, books, ornaments, etc) is what is needed here.  You probably think that I had thought of this.  You’d be so wrong.  But, as I was the person who packed pretty much every box, I can do this with ease.  Either that or I’ll just make stuff up.  Things are progressing and that’s a very good thing.

Tags: , ,

Categories: moving

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “It’s moving day”

  1. April 27, 2010 at 6:43 PM #

    It’s true Tanya…when you’re ready to go…it’s just time to get on with it. Probably a blessing in disguise. You sound so…together. As I was sweeping myself out the door and throwing all the extras in the last box, my mom and I polished off the bottle of Chateauneuf du Pape that I’d bought 8 years earlier in Paris. I was saving it for a special occasion. That seemed to be it, aside from the paper cups we had to drink it out of!

Leave a Reply

