What we need here is closure

The sale of my condo closed today at 3:15 pm.  This is cause for much celebration and if we had a bottle of champagne handy we would pop the cork and toast our future.

The champagne will come.  Our celebration will take place on the weekend with les parents (D’s parents).  They are over the moon that their son is coming ‘home’.  They’ve already started their preparations for our arrival in Coustellet.  That certainly warms my heart and makes me feel so good. 

I have to refrain from pinching myself: am I dreaming?

As Monday nears I find that I’m shaking my head more and more.  This is a dream come true.  People keep telling me that I’m lucky; they can’t believe my good fortune.  Sure, they’re correct but I also say that when you plan for something and you expect it to happen it can’t just be luck.  This has been my dream but also my reality for as long as I can remember.  I didn’t study French for all those years just to live in a predominantly anglophone city.  Yes, I expected my Frenchie would come along — I thought he would come along earlier in my life but better late than never.

So, before leaving the apartment yesterday I took one last look at my home for the last 5 years.  This chapter of my life is closing but I’m looking ahead now to my future in France and all the good things that are to come.

Tags: , ,

Categories: changes

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “What we need here is closure”

  1. May 1, 2010 at 10:35 AM #

    its true you are lucky but like you said you have put in the hard work and planned for this. Its something you want…..i guess it goes to prove that when we put our minds to it we can do whatever we want.

  2. May 1, 2010 at 3:55 PM #

    It you it’s absolutely necessary….and there is no other choice…I will bite the bullet and drink some champagne for you. Consider it my aid in the moving effort!

Leave a Reply

