Croissants and Montmartre

D and I arrived in Paris on yesterday (Tuesday May 4) morning.  For the first time ever I slept for the entire flight, except during meal times of course.  It didn’t take long for us to clear customs despite the room full of passengers from New York and Toronto.  Okay, we lined up with the other EE/EU/CH passport holders – D uses his French passport – and that got little ol’ me through customs faster than all other non-EU passport holders.

We arrived at our little hotel in Montmartre (in the 9e arrondissement), which just happens to be steps away from Sacré Coeur.  (Yes, I’m quite aware that those are uphill steps and as D and I always climb hills/stairs I know that we’ll climb those steps funiculaire be damned!) As our room wasn’t ready we grabbed a coffee and croissant at a nearby resto.  Oh heavenly croissant, how I love thee!  Ah, it felt like I was in flaky, buttery heaven.

Finally, our room was ready.  Sadly, the elevator wasn’t working so up to the second floor we climbed.  When we reached the 1st floor I felt a sigh of relief until I remembered that this is the 1st floor.  Up another flight we climbed.  Our room overlooks boulevard Rochechouart, is clean, and small by North American standards.  The bathroom is serviceable but I do believe the 1970s tile was a sale purchase because no one would buy anything so ugly at full price.

Yesterday was a day to catch up to our new time zone.  We tried to sleep for a few hours but we had some trouble because: 1) someone from the hotel tried to open opened the room door despite D shouting “On est là! On est là!”; 2) someone else from the hotel knocked on the room door; and 3) the cleaning lady was banging around and vacuuming the hallway with wild abandon.

Today, however, started well enough.  We ordered breakfast yesterday when we arrived at the hotel.  The breakfast, although not included in the room price, was only 6 Euros/person.  It arrived at 7:45 this morning: coffee (hot chocolate for D), croissants, rolls, yogurt, jam, butter, juice, and cheese.  Have I told you that I love Paris?

I have to put this in writing too.  I noticed yesterday that most of the guests at this hotel were either young Americans or European families.  (We encountered Germans and Italians yesterday.)  The main reason for the demographic is that most North Americans tend to stay away from 2-star hotels in Europe.  Yes, there is a certain comfort and familiarity with the higher category hotels and certainly a hotel such as this one would more likely be a 1-star hotel in Toronto.  That said, for the price, the service (so far) and the location, I have no complaints.  Sure, we could have stayed at a hotel closer to the Arc de Triomphe but it would have meant spending upwards of 180 Euros/night.  D and I would rather spend the difference on food.

As for getting out and seeing more of Paris, that will be part of the schedule for the rest of the week.  D will put in some work from the hotel in the morning and this afternoon we’ll head to Sacré Coeur.  I read Sion’s recent post and may just have to poke around in the area too.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Paris

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Croissants and Montmartre”

  1. May 5, 2010 at 12:25 PM #

    Welcome to Paris, Tanya!

  2. May 5, 2010 at 3:56 PM #

    Hello, and welcome to France! Your description of breakfast has made me crave a good French breakfast 🙂
    Hope you enjoy Paris!

  3. May 6, 2010 at 8:36 AM #

    Welcome, welcome, Tanya! I kept seeing all your comments on Sion and Piglet’s blogs, I thought I would come by for myself and welcome you here. 🙂

    Enjoy!
    Karin
    (an alien parisienne)

    • May 6, 2010 at 9:40 AM #

      Hi Karin! Thanks for the welcome. I’ve seen your comments on Sion’s blog too. Nice to ‘meet’ you. It’s been a trip, this moving to France bit, but a good one nonetheless. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

