Ch-ch-changes

This is the season of change.

Actually, it’s been 5 months of change for me.  First, I decided to leave my job.  (Sure, they paid me to go but it was still my choice!)  Second, I decided to move to France with D.  (That was definitely my choice and the fulfillment of a dream.)  And third, I changed the theme on my blog.  Okay, okay, this 3rd change isn’t as big a deal as the first two but change it is.

We have many reasons for making big changes in life.  If we’re lucky the change is of our own choosing and we can anticipate challenges or look forward to the good fortune that’s to come.

Leaving my job and moving to France were definitely in the plan; things just happened a lot sooner than either of us planned.  As I sit here in the hotel room, I still can’t believe that I’m here.  Sure, the ambulance sirens sound different and the hotel room is slightly larger than a handkerchief.  I know I’m not in Toronto anymore.  It’s still a little strange.  I haven’t wrapped my head around it all.

The work really starts next week.  We’ve already compiled a list of apartments that are of interest to us.  We will shortlist this terribly large list — yup, 73 is a large list — and then we’ll make contact with some agencies.  We head to Coustellet tomorrow (Friday) afternoon.  I suspect that we’ll have a brief respite before we have to get going again.  We will head to Nice on Monday morning and spend 3 days there.  Oh, it’s not going to be all sunshine and roses.

D has a timeframe in which we need to get things done.  Three days in Nice should be enough to find an apartment for June 1st.  (We’ve decided on any one of the coastal towns but will venture as far inland as Grasse.)  As it’s a holiday on Thursday which is sure to be bridged on Friday we will go at full speed in our search.  That’s the plan.  I don’t know if the timeframe is unrealistic however; that’s the troubling part.  We’ll see.

This brings me to the change in my blog’s theme.  The photo in the header was taken April 2008 in Hyères the first time I travelled to France with D.  It was a warm and sunny day and we spent most of the time laughing and having a good time.  We couldn’t believe our good fortune.  Here’s to embracing change and to choosing to live a positive and happy life!

Tags: , ,

Categories: changes

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “Ch-ch-changes”

  1. May 6, 2010 at 10:27 AM #

    OH Tanya, you’ve got your work cut out for you! But so exciting. The changes look really good…it’s so organized and easy to get around. However, I don’t get a photo in the header when I look at it. Just one of those frustrating blue question marks! I wanted to alert you. I changed my look a few months ago and it took me some time to get it all right! Enjoy the Sunday market in Coustellet and the time with D’s parents, take a deep breath and then GO FOR IT! Actually, I will be in Nice on Wednesday afternoon and Thursday morning. If you have time for a cup of coffee, give me a call. I’d love to meet you! And welcome to the south of France. I’ll email you my phone number.

    • May 6, 2010 at 11:08 AM #

      Thanks for letting me know (re: the header photo). I deleted it from my media files last night (there were several copies on file) but it was still showing up on the blog. Technology really makes my head hurt. But yes, I do prefer this one to the previous; hopefully I’ll get the photo/header right. If it changes (for the better) please let me know. Wednesday may be a no-go due to our schedule so Thursday would be the soonest we could possibly meet. Thanks again.

  2. May 6, 2010 at 10:38 AM #

    okay, don’t have an email address! My number is

    • May 6, 2010 at 10:56 AM #

      Thanks Delana. I removed your number from my blog after saving it in my phone.

  3. May 6, 2010 at 11:27 AM #

    You are going to be one busy girl that’s for sure! Change is good and I like your new style for your blog. However, I am going to hold you responsible for me singing ch ch changes all day long! Can’t get the wretched song out of my head now (just teasing 🙂 ) Best of luck with the apartment hunting!

    • May 6, 2010 at 5:57 PM #

      LOL! That song has been in my head for over a week now. I just had to share!

  4. May 6, 2010 at 4:08 PM #

    How exciting. You are starting to live the dream. I like that you have changed your blog to reflect your new place in life. I love the picture too, its so beautiful.
    Good luck with the apartment hunting and everything you have to do. Its a wonderful journey you are on.

    • May 6, 2010 at 5:57 PM #

      Thanks Shane. It’s a trip to be sure. I plan on getting some rest this weekend as next week will be very busy.

Leave a Reply

