How quickly things change

D and I left Paris by TGV for Avignon on Friday afternoon.  I have to tell you that I’ve always enjoyed taking the train.  Okay, maybe that’s not true.  I’ve always loved the idea of travelling by train and seeing how the landscape and communities change as you move from one part of the country to the next.  The idea of taking the train in North America, however, is not the same as taking the TGV.

My limited experience of train travel in North America includes trips between Toronto and New York City and Toronto and Orlando, Florida.  Oh how lovely those rides would have been had they been by TGV or something similar.  Instead, the trip involved stops in every hamlet, town, village, street corner…  It seemed interminable.

The train ride between Paris (from the Gare de Lyon) to Avignon took just less than 3 hours.  That’s roughly 750 km travelled in less than 3 hours folks.  Now that’s train travel and it’s what I think of when I say I love travelling by train.  I love watching how the architecture — and sometimes even the weather — changes as you move south.

D’s parents were, and still are, over the moon at our arrival.  The routine apéro took on a celebratory air:  champagne all around!  Dinner was a simple meal and the conversation was filled with laughter and joy as expected.  Mingled in there was also the topic of finding an apartment in Nice.

Now, D and I had a plan.  Notice the past tense there:  had.  We planned on relaxing this weekend then heading to Nice on Monday morning.  Three days of apartment searching should suffice.  Ha!  I laugh in the face of plans.  It turns out that D has to be back in Paris for a meeting on Monday.  (This meeting was originally scheduled for Wednesday afternoon and was also the reason for our early arrival in France!)  Ha!  The new plan includes that we’ll stay here with the parents until the weekend and head to Nice a week later than planned.

There is an upside to this.  Instead of one weekend at the marché in Coustellet I now have two!

Tags: , , ,

Categories: changes

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

