Let’s get moving

I find I’m bored.

I’m bored of doing nothing.  I’m bored of surfing seloger.com to find an apartment with measurements I don’t understand.  Enough of this surfing and let’s get on with it.

Okay, maybe I’m stretching things here and I’m overreacting just a pinch.  It’s the way I feel though.  As much as I enjoy spending time with les parents and being treated as a princess is really nice, I really feel the need to establish my own rhythm to each day.  Also, as much as I help la mamie in the kitchen, I know that it’s not my kitchen and I forever feel as though I’m intruding.  Oh, les parents say to me all the time “il ne faut pas se gêner Tanya“, that I should feel like I’m at home.  Sure.  Okay.  Right.  Maybe.

I also feel like I did when I was in my teens.  My mother would take us (my brothers and me) on family vacations to Jamaica.  We would spend most of our time in the middle of small-town/small village Jamaica.  We’d pass the days by playing Scrabble or reading or just watching traffic.  I tell ya, monks have nothing on me and this meditation bit because I’m used to holding my own internal conversations!  There would come the day, however, when Mom (or some other adult) would announce that we would be going to Montego Bay the next day.  Oh, the excitement!

Well, the next day would arrive and we would ensure we were ready at the set hour.  The adults, however, seemed to have their own schedule.  They would have to do this or they would have to do that.  They would turn this way then the next.  Don’t they know that we’re dying to go NOW!  Don’t they know that the more time we spend spinning in circles at home means less time at our destination?  Let’s go!

So, as I sit here facing D across the dining table, I feel like that little girl.  We’re supposed to go for a drive somewhere, anywhere.  He just had to make one call via Skype to his business partner.  The call lasted for nearly an hour.  Then, he had to call the office in Toronto then scan a document then email his business partner then…

I’m still sitting here.  Yes, I know I could read a book or a magazine but I think I need a little more stimulation.  Ah, here we go.  On y va!

Tags: , ,

Categories: sanity/insanity

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

