Have you seen the wind?

Holy smokes!  Is it ever windy today.  The mistral is back it seems.  I just hope that it takes all that sad rainy weather with it when it finally leaves.

Speaking of leaving, D and I finally take off for Nice on Monday morning.  We found a hotel in vieux Nice last night before heading out with les parents for an apéro at their friends.

Now, I like food.  I should qualify that: I like good food combined with good wine and good company.  Last night had all three.  And this was an apéro like no other.  My only regret was that I had left my camera at home.

We arrived at G and E’s place around 6:10 pm.  Both G and E are in their eighties but have vibrant personalities and huge stories.  (It’s not for me to say whether all their stories are true; I can only say that the stories made for a good evening.)  We were received in the salon and quickly they ushered us into the dining room.  After a brief exchange over everyone’s health, the weather, living in France, E quickly stood up and went to the kitchen to get the fixings for our apéro.

As my back was to the kitchen I could only watch la mamie’s eyes widen each time E entered the dining room.  There were trays of cheese, salamis, and hams; platters of pâté en croûte and bowls of black olives!  Oh my…  To drink we had champagne and Gewürztraminer plus a bottle of vin mousseux.  There was more.  After the savoury came the sweet.

E had made brochettes of strawberries and bananas which we ate with whipped cream.  There were also flaky pastries filled with a bright yellow butter cream; the pastry was light and crispy and oh so good!  There were also 5 — yes, I counted and ate — different types of mini cookie/cake treats.  So very delish!  Did I mention the chocolates?  On the drive home we were still talking about the food.  This wasn’t just an apéro; it was a diners delight!

Tags: , , ,

Categories: apéro

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Have you seen the wind?”

  1. statusviatoris
    May 16, 2010 at 8:02 PM #

    OMG! I am so hungry now… I’m obviously not going to the right places for my apero!

    • May 16, 2010 at 8:41 PM #

      I didn’t know that aperos like that existed either! It was a pleasant surprise to say the least.

Leave a Reply

