Tanya – fighting crime in Nice…Seriously!

What a day!  D and I met with one of several agents today in our search for our new home.  (More on the apartment search in a separate post but suffice it to say that this apartment definitely did not have that coup de coeur!)  We stopped at the train station in Nice where two strange things happened to me.

First, as D was on the phone with one of his clients and as I was fidgeting – I was tired and hungry – I figured the best thing to do was to find a quiet place to sit down and wait for D.  The station wasn’t packed with people so I was able to find a place to sit with no difficulty.  About 5 minutes after I had sat down a woman sat down in the seat two seats to my right.  She was on the phone; no concern there.  A minute after she sat down, I looked up to see a gentleman enter the waiting area from the taxi bay.  My first thought:  he’s coming over here; don’t make eye contact.  A second thought quickly followed.  If he comes over here and sits two seats away – to my left – he’s not here to cause problems.  If he sits next to me, I must be on guard.

Of course, he sat right next to me.  I didn’t look at him; I didn’t bat an eyelash.  I sat still and waited.  Sure enough my waiting room neighbour spoke.  He said, “Excusez-moi”.  D, who was clear across the other side of the room was staring at me.  I looked at him and, without say a word to my “friend”, walked over to him.  D told me that he bolted from the room the minute I got up.  But you’d think that would be enough for one afternoon.  You would be so wrong!

So, there I was, leaning against D who was still on the phone.  I was watching people come and go; it’s one of my favourite things to do.  I noticed a gentleman walking the room.  I wondered if it was my “friend”.  (After the fact, D told me it was a different guy.)  The gentleman, let’s call him Guy, walked very slowly past a teenage girl who was standing with her parents buying a rail ticket.  Guy walked very close to the girl, whose back was to him, and he reached out to touch her backpack.  He then stopped by the family and waited.  The girl seemed to be aware that Guy was up to know good because she immediately took her backpack off and started talking loudly to her parents.

Guy walked away and then walked up to a group of three 50-something women who were buying rail tickets from another ticket machine.  Now, as I watched Guy, I wasn’t sure if he was a bad guy or good guy.  In fact, when he walked up to the group of three women I thought he was travelling with them…UNTIL I saw that they had absolutely no clue that he was there AND that he had his hand on the handles of the purse of one of the women in the threesome!  Although she had a hand on her suitcase and purse, both were behind her and she didn’t have a good grip on either item.

Guy was not a good guy it seems.  I quickly moved by D to say to the woman “Faîtes attention à votre sac madame!” (watch your bag, madame!) but she looked at me with a blank stare; she didn’t speak French.  So, I pointed at her bag.  Realization hit for both the group of women and for Guy.  Now, Guy was upset, seriously upset.  D quickly got off the phone and grabbed me by the shoulders and we hurried out of the station.  Guy followed us and started to mumble all kinds of nonsense, none of which I care to repeat, and we kept walking.  We did finally find a security guard who took care of Guy for us.

So yes, I’m fighting crime one Guy at a time.  But a word to all travelling women: if/when you travel to a big city you must keep an eye on your belongings!  Nice is a lovely city with lots of sunshine and beautiful palm trees but it is also a major city and, like any large city you need to keep your wits about you.  Having your luggage and purse trail behind you is not advisable.  Please, ladies, keeps your belongings as close to your body as possible and within eyesight.  Soyez vigilantes mes amies!

Tags: , , ,

Categories: sanity/insanity

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Taste of Garlic » Tanya in Transition - September 6, 2010

    […] Only two weeks later we find Tanya in Nice, fighting crime! […]

Leave a Reply

