Coup de coeur – revisited

Here’s a simplified version of our apartment hunting in Nice.

Step 1:  find an apartment.

Step 2:  provide the estate agent with paperwork.

Step 3:  move in.

Simple, right?  Sure.  During our 5 days on the coast D and I visited 11 different apartments.  We actually were scheduled to visit 13 but in one case, the previous tenants decided not to terminate their existing lease and in the second case, our drive by the neighbourhood eliminated the apartment on the spot.  This was certainly cause for us to revisit our budget.

We started our search without knowing what to expect.  As neither D nor I had a good idea as to the neighbourhoods in Nice and the surrounding areas we had to rely on the agents, assuming they were honest with us, and on our own instincts.  By Wednesday we had a pretty good idea as to how much (or little) we’d get for our budget and where we would be happy and comfortable.

I am super excited and happy to say that D and I did decide on the lovely apartment in Nice with a view on the sea.  The apartment is a 5 min walk from downtown but, based on its location on a hill and surrounded by trees and limited vehicle traffic, seems miles away from town.  A stroll down the hill, via a ruelle, brings you to public transportation, shopping, restaurants, and ultimately the Promenade des Anglais.

D provided Mme D with the requisite paperwork last week but, as we had committed to other visits, we told her that we would let her know on Tuesday (tomorrow) whether she can proceed.  Everything seems to be in order and we’re both feeling positive; however, I find that I am holding my breath.  Understandable, I’m sure, but I’m nervous and I can’t wait.

My positive nature is battling with the unknown and I won’t relax until it’s all said and done.  Patience is not my virtue!

Tags: ,

Categories: apartment hunting

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Coup de coeur – revisited”

  1. May 25, 2010 at 1:17 PM #

    I will cross fingers for you! Will you have to go down the whole guarantor route, I understand it’s hard to get a rental if you don’t have three months payslips etc? Best of luck!

    • May 25, 2010 at 3:11 PM #

      Lucky for us, no, we don’t have to go that route. D was well aware of what was needed so he came with all the necessary paperwork. The only thing that may delay things is the kitchen renovations but we’re flexible so no worries. But yes, keep your fingers crossed!

  2. Irina
    May 30, 2010 at 6:52 PM #

    Hi Tanya, I’m so excited to find your blog. I’m currently living in Paris but I have a very good job offer in Sophia-Antipolis which I am almost positive I will accept. However, the idea of moving out of Paris is making my heart shrink. Any ways, I was wondering if you can give me some tips on neighborhoods since you have already been checking out appartments. Any other info that you have about Nice can come in very handy too. Thanks in advance!

    • June 1, 2010 at 12:59 AM #

      Hi Irina. Thanks for stopping by and reading. Ah, Nice. I really enjoyed Nice, at least what I saw of it. In terms of tips, it depends on what you’re looking for. I don’t recommend living by the train station. There are seriously dodgy parts there. If you’re a city girl then ave Jean Medecin in the area of Nice Etoile is cool. There are lots of stores and restos around and the tram runs along Jean Medecin. We also liked the area around rue de la Buffa. If you’re looking for something a little quieter try Cimiez (although it’s pricier in this area if I recall correctly) but it’s still easy to get downtown. Nice Ouest is also a nice area although it feels a little further afield than the areas previously noted.

      If your job is in Sophia Antipolis you may also want to look at Cagnes-sur-Mer, specifically Cros-de-Cagnes. I liked it there too. It’s a slower vibe in Cagnes than in Nice and it’s closer to SA. Villeneuve-Loubet is another option but as we didn’t look at apartments there I don’t know what the area is like.

      That’s all I can think of at the moment. Good luck with your move, if you do accept the job. Nice is a lovely city and while different from Paris it has a lot going on too. Thanks again for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

