Overture, curtains, lights…

Those who know me well know that I have a song for everything.  Today is no exception.  I’m channeling Loony Tunes right now so if you know the tune you can sing along.  (And yes, I know all the words.)   

It’s all about openings and beginnings here in Coustellet.  I’m talking about no greater occasion than the pool here at les parents.  D and le papy took the cover off the pool on Sunday and they’ve been sweeping and vacuuming the pool, adding the necessary chlore and ph+ to magically change the colour from pond green to a beautiful pool blue.  Pool season looks to begin this weekend!   

The pool boys hard at work

Now that it seems that the warm and sunny weather is here to stay, la mamie has set up the summer kitchen.  There’s something to be said about cooking and eating while outside without having the headache of packing your camping gear.    

We’ve been eating outside for a while now but at the front of the house.  We breakfast on the veranda and have lunch under the tree by the driveway.  Last night, we had dinner by the pool for the first time this season.  It’s all about being outside.  Even Sunday night, after dinner, we harvested our own dessert:  cherries!  How much fun it was to pluck the ripe fruit, warm from the sun, and pop each glorious cherry into my mouth!  There is another cerisier (cherry tree) in the garden…  I’m not sure if la mamie will be using them for jam/jelly or if we’ll have another opportunity to feast from the tree.

Dessert: cherries straight from le cerisier in the garden

This year has been about new starts for me.  While I don’t (yet) have an overture for 2010 I think it will be something joyous and will make me feel like enjoying the sunshine.  What about you?  What would your overture sound like?

Tags: , , ,

Categories: joy

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “Overture, curtains, lights…”

  1. May 26, 2010 at 6:57 PM #

    Finally the weather here is acting like Provence. Enjoy your weekend by the pool. I hope to spend an afternoon at a friend’s pool next week with my son. Ahhhh!

  2. May 26, 2010 at 11:58 PM #

    Well summer started, kind of……we had a few nice days…..now the rain is back and it is dreary. Heading to Napa and San Francisco is just over a week so I hope it is nice weather there. Our friends have a hot tub in their back yard in Napa so I am hoping that we have good weather……
    Right now i would rather be in the South of France let me tell you. My iphone application for weather has Nice, Paris, Barcelona, PVR, Istanbul, London, Manchester, Venice, San Francisco, Napa, New York City, Montreal and of course my home city Vancouver. I check the weather in France and everyday wish I was there. Funny even on the rainy days
    LOL

    • May 28, 2010 at 11:33 AM #

      I’ve never been to Napa but always wanted to go. I think it’s the vineyards that appeal to me! Those are terrific cities to have on your iPhone; about half of them I have yet to visit…but there is still time! Are you in Vancouver, BC or Washington?

      • May 28, 2010 at 4:15 PM #

        Its the vineyard that are drawing me as well and a friend who lives there. I live in Vancouver BC and I do feel fortunate to live in such a beautiful place. Its not France but I think it is probably the best alternative.

  3. May 27, 2010 at 12:27 PM #

    I am now singing Loony Tunes, or rather humming as I don’t know the words. Thanks Tanya, you’ve set me up humming for another day LOL 🙂

    Ohhhh, I’m jealous! Your weather is obviously better than ours! Hubby got the pool ready on Tuesday and it has been windy or raining eversince…

    And to have a Mamie around to make you lots of nice things, how lovely!

    I hope you have a lovely weekend in the sun, and if you can, do try and send some to Lyon please!

Leave a Reply

