FFF – Rosé wine

I came.  I saw.  I drank rosé wine.    

Ah, rosé — so girly, so youthful.  When I was younger I recall that most of my girlfriends were all agog for White Zinfandel.  It was the wine and the boyfriends would woo their girlfriends with this pale pink, sweet wine from California.  I wasn’t a big fan but I have to agree that it was easy to drink.  I stuck with reds and whites and I didn’t mind it when my friends turned their noses up at my wine selection.  More wine for me after all.    

That was about 20 years ago.  Imagine my surprise, then, when le papy first brought out a bottle of rosé to have with lunch.  Um, excuse me?  Rosé?

A new bottle of rosé to accompany dinner.

You’re going to make me drink a rosé?  Merci, but no.  Of course, those words were never uttered but I’m quite certain that my brow was furrowed in confusion.  The pretty pink wine was poured into wine glasses and we all toasted each other.  Yes, I had to take a sip; to do otherwise would be rude.  I raised the glass to my lips and took a sip.  Oh.  Wait a minute!  This is not like White Zinfandel at all.  Oh no, no, no.  Mmm, this is good!  This is refreshing!  This is rosé!    

Here in the Midi, rosé wine is consumed in (what seems to me) huge quantities.  It is ever-present, especially during the summer months.  Grilled meat for lunch?  Bring out a rosé.  Spicy food?  Rosé works here too.  Apéro?  Sure.  Postprandial with a selection of cheese?  Go for it.  Le papy brings out a rosé for lunch and dinner.  Sometimes we have a white wine — generally an Alsace wine — but rarely during the summer do we have red.  Rosé?  Toujours!    

As you can imagine, rosé wine is not like red wine.  They’re two different beasts altogether with different production processes.  One process of producing rosé wine is through skin contact.  This is used when rosé is the primary product.  Red-skinned grapes are crushed and the skins are left in contact with the juice for a short period of time.  The second procedure is through bleeding the vats or saignée.  In this procedure, rosé wine is a by-product of red wine production.  The third, and most uncommon procedure is through the process of mixing a red wine with a white to give the wine some colour.  (I believe this procedure is illegal in France.)    

If you haven’t tried a rosé recently (or ever) give it a try this summer.  And remember, pink is in!

Tags: , , ,

Categories: FFF (Food Frenzy Fridays), rosé

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “FFF – Rosé wine”

  1. May 28, 2010 at 11:26 AM #

    When my friends come and express surprise at the Rosé, I just tell them it’s Provencal lemonade….have another ice, cold glass! Have you got a favorite?

    • May 28, 2010 at 11:31 AM #

      No, I don’t yet have a favourite. D and I have added that to our list of things to do: find a favourite Rosé along with find a favourite Bordeaux, Burgundy, champagne…you get the idea! If you care to recommend one/some we’ll be more than happy to try!

  2. May 28, 2010 at 11:49 AM #

    I love Rose but haven’t as yet found a favourite either. Some of the more fruity ones are lovely for the apero, but my Hubby loves the very very pale pink ones. I don’t generally mind as long as it well chilled.

    Your post today was well timed Tanya, I’m waiting for a friend to pop round and deliver me two cartons of Rose, and it’s nearly midi so maybe some rose with lunch?

  3. May 28, 2010 at 4:16 PM #

    yes I remember really starting to appreciate Rose in France as well. I came home to BC and have tried many of the Rose that are produced here. I have found some very good BC ones I have to say.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Taste of Garlic » Tanya in Transition - September 6, 2010

    […] tells us all about Rosé wine.  I wonder who introduced her to […]

Leave a Reply

