Trout, I know

D and I sat down for lunch in the summer kitchen with les parents yesterday afternoon.  While still warm outside, we have quite a few clouds hovering overhead.  (Piglet, do you have the sun there?)  Lunch was very good as usual; la mamie is a very good cook and even the simple meals are a treat.

Today was no exception…but it made me realize that there is so much I do not know.

I love to cook and I spend a lot of time reviewing recipes that I’ve tried and those I’m dying to try.  I have lots to learn now that I’m in France.  I think I know all the seafood/fish in the sea in English, but in French it’s a whole different story.  Sure, sure, I know truite (trout), coquilles St Jacques (scallops), morue (cod – more on that below), and saumon (salmon).

I had to laugh at lunch too because la mamie made us a lovely salad followed by rice, zucchini, and cabillaud.  I learned that cabillaud is codfish.  Yes, codfish.  La morue is also codfish.  The difference?  Morue is dried and salted codfish while cabillaud is the fresh (or sometimes frozen) codfish.  I don’t think they make that distinction in Canada where I learned the word morue.  Go figure.  You’ve got to love the French for being so specific.

I have one question:  what on earth is loup de mer?

Tags: , ,

Categories: cooking

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Trout, I know”

  1. May 31, 2010 at 11:45 AM #

    No sun Tanya, it’s trying to come out from behind the rain clouds but so far no success… It was sunny on Saturday though 🙂

    Thanks for the info on Morue and Cabillaud, I have been wondering about these two for ages! I only really discovered fish in France so have just learnt the French names (I was 16 when I first moved to France) but I’m afraid I don’t have any idea of Loup de Mer – maybe someone can enlighten us both?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Taste of Garlic » Tanya in Transition - September 6, 2010

    […] whilst Tanya does know about fish, she does ask… “what on earth is loup de […]

Leave a Reply

