The waiting and learning game

I’m starting this post with the absurd:  D and I shared a dinner of cheese doodles and water.  We’re in Paris and this is what we eat for dinner.  Strange, isn’t it?

Okay, let me start at the beginning.  D and I arrived in Paris this afternoon.  Actually, this post should start on Sunday when D started complaining about feeling bloated.  No, this isn’t a case of PMS bloating and I and les parents started to worry a bit when he didn’t get better later into the evening.  Instead, he was feeling a sharp, twisting pain on the right side of his chest.  Last night was the height of ridiculous:  he couldn’t lie down to sleep.  So, he slept in a recliner.

So, we arrived in Paris where D had a meeting at 2 pm and another at 6:30 pm.  I was to go shopping.  Oh, I went shopping.  Despite having been to Paris several times this was my first time shopping in this lovely city…and I was in my element.  At least, I was in my element until I got a text message from D saying that he was at the doctor’s office.

Huh?

Long story short, D and I finally met up at Gare St Lazare and we headed back to the hotel.  From there we went to the hospital.  The doctor recommended that D get to the hospital as he may have an embolie pulmonaire (blood clot in his lung).

I spent the better part of Monday evening sitting in a waiting room waiting for D.  He came out to tell me that they are waiting for the results of his blood test…and, at 11:30 pm last night I was told that D would be admitted as it would take some time to deal with this clot.  (There are certain conversations I didn’t plan on having in French and this is one of them.)

So, I’m at the hotel waiting again.  I should be sleeping but this is on my mind.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: hospital visits

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “The waiting and learning game”

  1. June 1, 2010 at 7:54 AM #

    Tanya, my sister went through this pulmonary embolism thing several years ago. Actually, twice. Scared me half to death but she’s just fine and he will be too. Just want you to know I’m thinking about you guys and keep us posted.
    By the way, what the heck are cheese doodles?

    • June 1, 2010 at 11:29 AM #

      Thanks Delana for your kind words. I just updated my blog but, in short, D is doing fine. He came home a few minutes after I published my post. It was a huge relief, I can tell you.

      As for cheese doodles, I don’t know if there is another name for them but in terms of brand names Cheetos is the first thing that comes to mind. 🙂

  2. June 1, 2010 at 1:02 PM #

    OMG Tanya! I’m pleased to have read your update but I imagine you were panic stricken. I hope the rest of your stay at Paris goes smoother and that D is better.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Taste of Garlic » Tanya in Transition - September 6, 2010

    […] Now, whilst in Paris, Tanya and D shared a dinner of cheese doodles and water. […]

Leave a Reply

