Me, my shadow, and Paris made three!

Wednesday was a little anti-climatic after the events of Monday evening.  I went searching for inspiration.  Lucky for me I was in Paris, one of my favourite cities, and I had some free time on my hands.  Here’s a list of things I heard on Wednesday before heading south.  

My shadow at 3 pm in Paris

 “You are a tableau, a work of art.”  That was said to me by crazy Italian guy while I stopped to take a breather in Jardin des Tuileries.  Like, seriously.  He was impressed – yes, impressed! – that I didn’t go with him to wherever it is he wanted to go.  He also didn’t seem to care that I had a ‘husband’; he told me to bring him along too.  

“Can I have your autograph?”  I’m not sure who this guy thought I was.  Yes, the sun was out in Paris…and so were the crazy people.  

“Do you think he’ll sell us just 10 olives?”  This was said by an old British woman to her husband/partner in the marché St Honoré.  I don’t know if she got her wish.  It’s a strange request (to me).  Maybe she was feeling a little peckish, I don’t know.Just because they make for nice signs  

Mother to her children, ages 5 to 7:  “See, there’s the Eiffel Tower.”  Older child to mother: “Oh.  Can we have some ice cream?”  Priceless.  I guess the kids weren’t too impressed by Paris’ monuments.  I think Disneyland is more their speed.  The pretty purple and pink flowers in Tuileries were perhaps lost on the kids.  

All in all, I was happy to be in Paris but I’m happier here in Coustellet.  Maybe it’s because so much happened in Paris and I finally feel I can decompress.  Whatever it is, there is something to be said about a village atmosphere.  Plus, today is sunny and warm and les parents are happy to have us here.  

Tomorrow, we have a day trip to Marseille:  D for business; me for pleasure.  Stay tuned for some photos.  Next week, D and I may be in Germany.  Well, D is going for sure and I may tag along with him.  

I hope you’re having a wonderful day wherever you are!

Tags: , ,

Categories: getting out

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Taste of Garlic » Tanya in Transition - September 6, 2010

    […] in Paris Tanya gets told that…  “You are a tableau, a work of art” by a crazy Italian guy and then asked for her autograph by one of the crazy […]

Leave a Reply

