Quick road trip to Marseille

I have to tell you, this is one of the things I love about being in France.  It’s so easy to experience a different side to this country without having to drive huge distances.  Let me also add here that D tells me that French people migrate to Canada because they believe the same of Canada.  French people go to Canada for her wide, open spaces.  Sure, this is definitely true…if you’re in the middle of nowhere!  (Don’t get me wrong, I love Canada and there are advantages to living there.  Yes, the Rockies are impressive, and yes the landscape from province to province can take your breath away.)  The same exists here in France too.  Get away from your city once in a while and experience what the country has to offer!

Road trip!

Okay, my trip to Marseille could never be considered as a trip to the country.  Far from it.  We left Coustellet around 1:30 pm.  D had a meeting at 3 pm so we figured that we would give ourselves some extra time, just in case.  We made it to Marseille and found the client’s location by 2:40 pm.  The client is located near the port so finding the right building proved to be an easy task.  Sadly, the client isn’t located near the old port (Le Vieux Port) of Marseille; rather, we were in the middle of dockyard heaven.  Nothing photo worthy.  I still had to occupy myself for the hour and I spent it walking in brand new sandals.  Yes, my feet still hurt.   

I took the tram back to the client’s location to meet D.  (Smart move because I was regretting the sandals.)  This is where things improved.  D took me on a little drive through Marseille, specifically along the coast and by the Vieux Port.  Take a look!   

First, we stopped to have a drink.  This involved little walking and a lot of sitting and sipping!    

A cold drink as a reward for a hard day at work

This was our cool and shady spot on a terrasse in Marseille.  

  

On our way home we happened upon a sign and a monument — see below — which mentioned Château d’If.  As I was familiar with the Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas I had to get a photo.  For more on the Château click here.   

Château d'If

 The port in Marseille puts the port in Nice to shame.  This is a real port with lots of boats and lots of activity.  There are also quite a few restaurants along the port.  The traffic along the port was incredible.  We happened to be there just at the start of the rush hour and I really could have given that a miss.  

Driving by the Vieux Port

There are certainly some lovely sights in Marseille (my artistic side)…     

…and we passed by the Monument aux morts de l’armée de l’Orient et aux héros des terres lointaines on our way back home.  

  

All in all, it was a good afternoon.  Our next road trip starts on Sunday with a 9-hour drive to Nürnberg, Germany.  Happy trails!

Tags: , ,

Categories: road trip

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “Quick road trip to Marseille”

  1. June 6, 2010 at 10:22 AM #

    you’re lucky to get to visit all these places!! I’ve never been to Marseille but plan to visit one day… the list just keeps getting longer!

    whoops about the new sandals, I’m going through the same thing currently. It’s not nice 😦

    ps. I found a shop that does our size, its a chain called Besson Chaussures. Worth a visit if you ever see one.

    pps. Happy, safe trip to Germany

    • June 8, 2010 at 10:59 AM #

      Yeah, I can’t believe it either. Slowly but surely I’m ticking the boxes of the places I’ve wanted to visit. Thankfully, D’s job involves a fair amount of travel and li’l ol’ me gets to travel with him.

      Thanks for the tips on the shoe store! I’ll have to check and see if there is one in the area!

  2. June 8, 2010 at 3:37 AM #

    I go to Marseille every once in awhile but haven’t learned to really love it. Last week when the kids were here we took the boat to Chateau d’If…finally. Marseille has a rough, gritty quality that I like and dislike all at the same time. But yikes…the accent! I can’t understand a word! I drove through your town the other day but had no way to find you. We’ll have to connect one of these days.

    • June 8, 2010 at 10:57 AM #

      I agree with you Delana. I was surprised by the grittines of the city and yes I like and dislike it at the same time. As for that accent, let’s just say that I didn’t think I could face that challenge!

      Yes, we’ll connect and hopefully before I leave in July. The rest of this month should be quiet but that may change depending on D’s schedule.

  3. June 10, 2010 at 10:24 AM #

    Ha ha, I agree with the comments about Marseille. My boyfriend went to school there & says it took him about 3 years to fall in love with the city, but now he really loves it. I think I need a few more visits to get at the heart of the city’s charm. Although, the Vieux Port is beautiful & the views out by the Calanques are stunning!
    Think the next trip will be to sample my first bouillabaisse…
    Looking forward to reading more about your adventures!
    xx

    • June 11, 2010 at 10:53 AM #

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Yeah, I think a few more visits may be required so we’ll see how it goes. I know, I wanted to have my first bouillabaisse too but time didn’t permit.

  4. June 14, 2010 at 5:07 PM #

    Hi Tanya, I hope you’re enjoying your travels!!! Tag for you over at my place when you’re back, no obligations.

    • June 14, 2010 at 5:30 PM #

      LOL! My pleasure!
      We came back on Friday and I decided to extend my blog-free state for a few more days. I’m glad to be back online though!

Leave a Reply

