Tag, I’m it!

Ah, tag.  I always loved playing tag as a kid.  I loved it because I was a fast runner and could outrun most of my friends.  I was rarely it as a result and spent most of my time running and laughing, laughing and running.  Well, this online game of tag has no running in it but it certainly has me laughing…and answering questions.  I should be working on cleaning up a database for D but instead I’m answering questions from Piglet.  Here goes…

1. Why did you start a blog?  I think I needed to document this process of moving from Canada to France if only for myself.  I started my research on being an expat in France about 1.5 years ago when D and I first talked about moving here.  There was just so much information and I wondered if, in 5 years, I would remember everything that I went through to get here.  As everything seemed to happen at light speed — leave my job, sell my condo, move to France in 4 months — I figured the best was to document it was to blog about it.  Also, I figured that this was a quick and easy way for my family and friends at home to know what I’ve been up to without having to email a whole bunch of people.  Last, I figured it would give me something to do (in English) besides watching the telly.

2. Comfy shoes or killer heels?  Depends; there’s a time and a place for most things.  If I know I have a lot of walking to do or if I’m not sure about how much time I’m likely to spend on my feet then comfy shoes win.  If I’m just out for a night of “posing” (usually a date night with D where I can get all dolled up) then it’s killer heels all the way!  The challenge is to find comfy shoes that kick some serious ass in the looks department!

3. The funniest moment in the last week?  Watching Trashman 1 and Trashman 2 at the gas station in Germany.  Trashman 1 showed up first, complete with a bag, gloves, and a stick with a claw/hook on the end.  All this was used to dig in the garbage for bottles or cans.  Trashman 2 showed up 10 mins later with the same attire.  They weren’t wearing uniforms nor did the appear to be down on their luck.  Plus, they had driven to the gas station to collect plastic bottles and soda cans.  And yes, I know they drove because I saw their cars.  Trashman 2 drove a Mercedes-Benz by the way; his wife waited in the car for him while he scavenged around.

4. What would have been your dream job?  This is a toughie.  What would have been my dream job if what?  I feel like there should be more to this question and so I have a hard time answering it.  I can only answer by saying my dream job would be one where I get to travel, where I can interact with people by providing them with a service they need and/or want, where I am able to be myself and be happy, and where I earn enough money to live comfortably and buy killer heels!

5. If you won the lottery tonight, what would be the first thing you’d do?  My first reaction was to say that I would be to run across the street to the Super U to buy a bottle of champagne.  As we already have three bottles in the fridge it’s not such a smart move.  I think I would call my mother actually.

6. Most useless gadget you own?  Curling iron.  I used to straighten my hair (chemically) and therefore the curling iron was a necessity.  Now, I’m not sure why I still have it.  I think it’s even packed in a box for shipment to France.

7. You’re waiting for someone and they’re late. How late is too late?  That depends on how much I like the person and whether I know he/she is predisposed to being late.  I once waited over an hour for a friend for dinner — she’s chronically late but I love her dearly and would forgive almost anything — and once, when waiting on a first date, I was prepared to leave at the 15 minute mark.  Lucky for him that he showed up only 12 minutes late.  I made him buy me two $12 apple martinis.  He didn’t last long but those martinis were absolutely amazing!

8. Are you a do it now person, or a It can wait until tomorrow person?  Good question.  By nature I procrastinate but this usually applies to things I find little desire in completing.  If it’s something important to me then I need to do it now and get it done now.

9. If you were a drink, what would you be?  If I were a drink I would be my favourite drink:  a gin & tonic with a twist of lime.

10. What was the first thing you thought when you read these questions?  I thought they were interesting questions.  I chuckled actually.  I had a hard time with question 4 because I’m still trying to figure out what the answer is.

The (so-called) lucky targets for my questions are: Karin, Delana, Tuula and Florence (both of whom I recently “met”).  There certainly is no obligation on your parts but if you have the time, why not?  If anyone else cares to join in the fun, go right ahead.  The more the merrier I say.

And now for my 10 questions.

1. What is your favourite flavour of ice cream?

2. If you could go back in time, what advice would you give to your 24-year-old self?

3. What’s your favourite aisle at the grocery store?

4. What’s the best thing you’ve learned about yourself since living in France?

5. If you could interview a famous French actor/actress who would you choose?

6. Grey’s Anatomy or House?

7. Besides France, if you could choose one country in which to live, what country would you choose?

8. What was your first major purchase after moving to France?

9. Who was your best friend growing up and do you still keep in touch with him/her?

10. If you could choose a theme song for your life what would it be?

Tags: ,

Categories: Uncategorized

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

10 Comments on “Tag, I’m it!”

  1. June 16, 2010 at 7:39 PM #

    I’m giggling at the late dude who bought you the two appletinis. 😀 Yeah, he should have!! I’m glad they were delicious. I like your drink that you would be, too. Very refreshing! (lol — I like the answers with booze, hee hee)

    I really enjoyed reading your answers and I would be happy to answer the ones you wrote, too. 🙂 I’ll get to it in the next couple of days.

    Take care, Tanya!

    • June 17, 2010 at 10:09 AM #

      Lol…he was nice enough but just a little to impressed by big-city things like where stars hang out, who mistook him for Edward Norton (I didn’t see the resemblance), blah, blah, blah…The appletinis were the highlight to be sure. Is it wrong to say I like booze?! 😀

    • June 17, 2010 at 10:17 AM #

      Appletinis! Yummy!

  2. June 17, 2010 at 10:10 AM #

    Hi Tanya!
    I love your answers and also now I feel as if I’m getting to know more about you as a person rather than just a blogger! I’m loving this game 🙂

    I am 110% with you on the killer heel comfy shoe debate and I think I’ll join you on the quest to find the perfect combination. Given our shoe size it’s not going to be an easy task though, so many shoes in France just aren’t available in our size *SOB*

    I laughed hard about Trashman 1 & 2 – I thought they were films that I hadn’t seen or heard of to start with!

    Curling irons / hair devices definitely seem to be the most popular useless gadget we own! I have straightening irons and my hair is poker straight anyway!

    Sorry about Question 4 – I have discovered that this one reveals more that I’m not in a good place work wise at the moment, hence the use of past conditional and absence of any further indication of what? Well done for trying to answer anyway 🙂

    I love your questions too and will look forward to seeing those you have tagged reply in the future 🙂

  3. June 17, 2010 at 10:10 AM #

    okay..I’m it now! I need to think about these. If your favorite drink is gin and tonic, you must try Hendrick’s gin and tonic with a slice of cucumber. It has to be Henrick’s and OMG….it’s so delicious! Et maintenant….il faut que je réfléchir

    • June 17, 2010 at 12:30 PM #

      Oh I have Delana, I have. It is my gin of choice and it is soooo good!

    • June 17, 2010 at 1:29 PM #

      I should also add that Broker’s gin is a mighty fine one too. I haven’t yet tried it but my brother, who is an aficionado on most things with alcohol, has told me that it’s a top quality gin. (He also put me on to Hendrick’s so Broker’s is definitely worth a go!)

  4. June 24, 2010 at 4:35 PM #

    ^
    !
    !
    !

    Oh look — the pingback is up there!! 🙂 I was going to come here and leave the link to let you know I’d finished it, but there it is, already all set. 🙂

    I had fun answering your questions. Thank you again!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ten Questions Tagged, Times Two « An Alien Parisienne - June 24, 2010

    […] Next up there is Tanya at Tanya in Transition who tagged me with her ten. […]

Leave a Reply

