Signed, sealed, delivered…well, almost delivered!

It was a hectic week last week for D and me.  I recovered from our race Monday evening sufficiently to enjoy the warm weather in Paris.  Yes, I went to Ladurée and treated myself to some yummy macarons.  (I have to say that more ‘research’ is needed but the rose petal macaron is just too good!)      

La Durée macarons - so good!

And yes, I did some shopping too.  Not too much though so feel free to do some of your own if you’re in town!    (Silly shopping season started today…just so you know.) 

Who doesn't like saying «le coq sportif»?

  We arrived in Coustellet on Thursday evening.  Oh, that was an experience too.  Yes, we were caught in la grève, the strike, and our train was cancelled.  We ended up spending two extra hours at Gare de Lyon waiting for the next train that would take us to the Avignon TGV station.  It was, perhaps, a more comfortable journey south as the train was about 60% full.  In short, lots of room for us to spread out.      

This brings us to Friday.  D and I had two reasons to celebrate.  First, we celebrated our 33 months together (and the fact that we have 3 months of single-dom left).  Second, and the cherry on a wonderful cake, we signed the lease for our lovely apartment in Nice.  We now have an address in France!  We finally can arrange to have our furniture shipped and start our new life in France.  We spent the night in Villefranche and had a celebratory dinner on the beach.  

Dinner on the beach in Villefranche-sur-Mer

On Saturday, after a quick visit to the beach in Cagnes-sur-Mer, we headed back to Coustellet.  And here we are today.  Tomorrow, D and I head to Toronto for a few weeks.  I expect it will be strange to be back in a city that I’ve called home for 30 years.  Eek, that almost makes me feel old.  Almost.  Actually, it doesn’t; who am I kidding?!      

It’ll be a busy three weeks as there are people to see and things to do, especially arranging to have our stuff shipped — paperwork like crazy — as well as planning the wedding — flowers, cake, and don’t forget the license!  Ah, and that’s why it’s good to have a wedding coordinator like Selena and an Easy button.  Three months to go!  You’ve got to know that I’m excited!

Tags: , , ,

Categories: moving

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “Signed, sealed, delivered…well, almost delivered!”

  1. June 30, 2010 at 11:12 AM #

    what a busy time you have been having lady! Congrats on the wedding as well! You must be getting very excited! A wedding planner was an absolute must for me too, especially as we were living in the UK when we were arranging our French wedding – hard work!
    Congrats too on your lease, finally your place in France 🙂
    Enjoy your trip back.

    • June 30, 2010 at 12:07 PM #

      Tell me about it. I am super excited and can’t wait! I figure, at the end of it all, I’ll need a nice and relaxing honeymoon *ahem* vacation! 🙂

  2. June 30, 2010 at 11:12 AM #

    Felicitations on all fronts, Tanya. And have a wonderful trip home…try to remain calm and in control. Hah!

  3. July 1, 2010 at 3:44 AM #

    Ooh La La!

  4. Tuula
    July 5, 2010 at 4:16 PM #

    Wow, you’ve been busy! How exciting to finally have a place to call your own in Nice. Honestly, I think I’ve fallen in love with the city myself. Seems to have just the right mix of “international” while still remaining French.

    Good luck (bonne chance!) with all your wedding plans & your vie francaise seems to really be moving along nicely…
    look forward to hearing wedding updates 🙂 Congrats!

    • July 5, 2010 at 9:15 PM #

      Umm, you said it Tuula. Nice is still French, very much so, but it has a little something about it that makes you stop and pause. D and I are super excited about all the stuff that’s to come and we definitely cannot wait to move in to our new home. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

