I ken nut bee buzz erd

D and I are back in Toronto and that means I get to speak English again.  So, with the English language in mind, today’s post is dedicated to a few English words that have found their way into everyday French.    

Photo courtesy of JMDZ (Photo Xpress)

1. cheez keck:  have you tried ordering cheese cake in France yet?  What a trip.  The first time I ordered it I had to repeat it twice before D ‘corrected’ my pronunciation.    

2. cor-nair:  with the World Cup in full swing, this word is for all of you watching matches on the telly.  I’m sure there’s a translation for ‘corner kick’ but the French prefer to say ‘un cor-nair’…emphasis on the ‘nair’ of course.    

3. kohtch:  keeping with the football theme, I sometimes wish the French would stick with selectionneur instead of using the word ‘coach’.    

4. eereesh coffee:  this was actually said to D when he tried to order, in French of course, un café irlandais.  My poor French hubby-to-be had to say it twice before the waiter said «ah, un eereesh coffee!»    

5. aul or ohl:  you know, it connects one room to another.  In English it would just be a plain old hall.    

6. sool:  like James Brown’s music.  It has a lot of sool or soul to us anglophones.    

7. eets:  if you ever listen to Nostalgie (radio station) you already know that they play les meilleurs eets.  (They mean ‘hits’.)    

8. goh-lahv-rahzh:  yes, we’re back to footy here.  Le papy reminded me of this one.  It’s ‘goal average’ by the way.    

9. lookee strick: smokers out there may know this one.  I had to think about this one when le papy said Lucky Strike.    

10. I ken nut bee buzz erd: okay, this one is a phrase and it’s my favourite.  I say it to D when I’ve had enough:  ‘I cannot be bothered.’    

The more I speak French the more English I learn and that is très cool.

Tags: , ,

Categories: language

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “I ken nut bee buzz erd”

  1. July 8, 2010 at 4:44 PM #

    Funny! Yep, we are getting tons of Wold Cup Fran-glish at our house as well. Sometimes I can’t stop myself from laughing out loud at the commentators…where do they find these men? They are hilarious!
    Most of my favorite English words have to do with work, as in:

    BEEZ-NESS (business) – “He doesn’t know anything about Le Beeznees world”.

    Learning more everyday….xx

  2. July 9, 2010 at 2:57 PM #

    LOL! I loved that you wrote this down! I agree with Tuula (who’s blog I’ve just discovered!) about beeznees – so funny, makes me crack up!

    One of my cats is called Lucky and everyone always calls him luuukkeey, I’m forever correcting but no-one seems to care! Thankfully he only reacts to Lucky so no-one can get him to cuddle unless they pronounce his name right 🙂

    • July 9, 2010 at 5:15 PM #

      There were more too but I couldn’t remember them when it came time to write the blog. And beez-neez always cracks me up too. No matter how many times I hear it I still chuckle. What also makes me laugh are English preceded by “le” like “le timing”. As though that makes it French. It’s just way too funny!

  3. July 12, 2010 at 1:51 PM #

    Hee hee hee hee hee! These are great. 😀

    Hope you have a good time in Toronto. (Orrr, maybe you are back already! It’s been a few days since this was posted! In any case, safe travels to you, Tanya!)

Leave a Reply

