The final countdown

D and I believe there’s a song for everything.  Well, one song has been bouncing around in my head for more than a week now.  I’m talking about The Final Countdown by Europe.  Yeah, you know the song I’m talking about.  It came out in ’86 I think and it’s got that keyboard riff.  I was 14 when that song came out and now, almost twenty-five years later, the song is back in my head. 

I’m counting the days right now.  I have no real idea as to the date though.  I have to check my desktop calendar to see that it’s July 16.  That’s how the last 2 weeks have been.  I can’t get my head around the fact that we’ve been in Toronto for 2 weeks already.  D leaves for Paris on Monday; I leave on Thursday.  Neither of us can wait to be back in France. 

This is certainly no indication of our trip back “home”.  I love being with my family and my friends and the weather has been hot.  Toronto is enjoying a heat wave with the temperature averaging 32 degrees.  It’s the season of short skirts and tank tops.  It’s the season of barbecuing, going to the cottage, cranking the AC to the max, driving with the top down or sunroof open.  It’s the season for hanging by the lake, rollerblading or cycling along the waterfront.  It’s summertime in the city. 

But, despite all the good weather I still feel a little unsettled.  Sure, I’m hanging with family and friends, I’m in the midst of preparing and planning for the wedding, but it’s the numbers that get me.  It’s my countdown that counts. 

Photo courtesy of Sergej Razvodovskij (Photo Xpress)

 7:  the number of days until I’m back in France.

17:  the number of days before we get the keys to our apartment.  Nice…Nice!

53: the number of days until I’m back in Toronto.

71: the number of days until I’m a married woman.

 

I feel a riff coming on.  Where did I put my keyboard?

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: changes

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “The final countdown”

  1. July 19, 2010 at 8:34 AM #

    Exciting, exciting, exciting! It’s not surprising that you’re singing this song all the time, go find a keyboard and get stuck into the riff! There’s so much going on in your life Tanya, its a very exciting time for you! Enjoy the last few days of your holiday and best of luck for all your exciting projects – I look forward to reading your next update 🙂

Leave a Reply

