Cultivating jet lag, staying up late, and eating lettuce at 2 am ET

Photo courtesy of Ritu Jethani (Photo Xpress)

 I do this all the time.  Whenever D leaves for Europe, leaving me in Toronto, I stay up until the wee hours of the morning until I get an email or text from D.  It’s 2:20 am ET on Tuesday.  D left last night for Paris and unbeknownst to him the air traffic controllers are on a little strike.  Hmm, I don’t know how this will impact the arrival of this flight. 

And, considering that Tuesday is day 1 of the strike I’m wondering if I will suffer the same fate on Friday morning. 

So, I’m sitting here with the telly on. Dare I tell you that I’m watching re-runs of Project Runway?  Ms. Heidi Klum kills me (in a good way) and I just love fashion. 

Besides, what do you do when you’re waiting for news at 2 am? 

If you’re me, you choose to spend the better part of the evening addressing the envelopes for the wedding invitations.  I need to get some stamps too and the plan is to get the invitations to the post office tomorrow.  Mom and I will also have the day together tomorrow…today…to shop for her outfit for the wedding. 

Tomorrow evening, Big Brother and Little Brother and I will go for drinks and perhaps a bite to eat at Chimichangas.  Yup, you got it, Mexican food.  I’ll give up my regular G&T for a cold and tasty mojito! 

But for now, I will satisfy myself with a few lettuce leaves.  Crunchy!

Tags: ,

Categories: staying in

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Cultivating jet lag, staying up late, and eating lettuce at 2 am ET”

  1. July 21, 2010 at 9:47 AM #

    I once heard that snacking on lettuce leaves releives tension and helps the body deal with stress… maybe that is why you are nibbling on them?

    • July 22, 2010 at 1:18 AM #

      Oooh, really? Hmm…I’ll have to share that with anyone who questions my lettuce addiction.

  2. July 21, 2010 at 5:28 PM #

    Ohhhh, BIG love for Project Runway! I can understand the appeal to that show, for sure. It’s awesome.

    Where is your countdown now? Just a couple more days to Paris?

    Happy travels to you. 🙂

    • July 22, 2010 at 1:20 AM #

      Thanks Karin! I arrive in Paris around 8 am on Friday… I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

