The girl is back in town…

I feel like Dick Clark on American Bandstand and today I’m referring to Thin Lizzie’s “The Boys Are Back in Town”.  I’ve modified the title to suit my purpose — of course — and it’s bouncing around in my head.  (Because of a post I read earlier today, Thin Lizzie is competing with Sam & Dave’s “Hold On, I’m Coming”.  Thanks Kevin!) 

Yes, I am back in France and happy to see that the warm weather we left in Coustellet is still here.  Uh-huh, it’s still here along with a sacré mistral that rises up every now and then.  The sun is shining and the sky is a lovely shade of blue with big poufy clouds.  No humidity.  Thankfully, we left that in Toronto. 

This is me in Toronto.

 I was happy to be in the T-Dot again but there were so many people I didn’t get to see.  Three weeks should be enough but it isn’t so I sincerely apologize to those I didn’t get to see. 

In terms of what I did get done, let’s see…I checked off all the items from my wedding to-do list.  (Yeah, a little celebratory dance for me. Thanks again Selena for your help and for the laughs!)  I got to hang out with both of my brothers on more than one occasion.  (The best brothers ever despite the laser-beam eyes to my head.  Inside joke.)  D and I got to spend some quality time together (as always).  And, perhaps the highlight of the trip was spending time with my mother. (An absolutely amazing woman who makes the best soup ever!)  All in all, it was a productive 3 weeks but yeah, I’m glad to be back. 

This brings us to today.  Tuesday, July 27, 2010.  I had to check my watch which, thankfully, also shows the date.  It could be Thursday for all I know.  D and I have 6 more days here with les parents.  On Monday we head back to Nice to get the keys to our apartment.  Can you feel my excitement people?!  D and I are totally stoked on this and it’s our topic of conversation every night.  I cannot wait to sit on our sofa…in Nice!  I can’t wait to re-acquaint myself with our bed and my pillow.  Oh, how I miss my pillow!  We look forward to having apéro on our terrace.  (D mentioned yesterday that he can’t wait to unpack his bar ware.  I can’t either because he makes a mean mojito!)  We really just want to find our own rhythm to each day. 

The real estate agent called this morning because she had some news.  It turns out that the sink in the kitchen wasn’t delivered.  (We’re getting brand new stuff in our kitchen by the way.  Supposedly it’ll be all kitted out.)  Our landlady is in a tizzy and calls le cuisiniste everyday to find out where the sink is.  This is no major setback for us as we’d much rather have the keys on Monday than wait for a sink to show up. 

This means a road trip is on the horizon.  Next stop: Nice!

Tags: , , ,

Categories: changes

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “The girl is back in town…”

  1. July 27, 2010 at 3:03 PM #

    Welcome home Tanya. We’ll be up your way tomorrow…going over to Valensole and then swimming and a little sunning at Lac St. Croix. Wanna come?

    • July 27, 2010 at 8:27 PM #

      Oh, I would love to come but the boss man (aka D) has me bogged down with work this week :-|. Sounds like an absolute lovely treat. Enjoy!

  2. Tanya
    July 27, 2010 at 4:49 PM #

    Apology accepted 🙂 i know how busy planning a wedding can be so you are forgiven Tanya. Since you couldnt see me we will see you on the 25th of September. I recieved our invite and i am so excited you invited us. Thanks 🙂 cant wait. XOXOX
    Tanya

    umm have a Croissant and Marmalade with fresh butter for me.

    • July 27, 2010 at 8:30 PM #

      Thank you :-)! I felt terrible because my plans kept changing from moment to moment. Yes, I hope to see you there! Be good!

  3. July 27, 2010 at 6:28 PM #

    Sounds like all good news & glad you had a great trip at home. How nice it’s going to be to live in Nice 🙂 There seem to be a lot of expats there as well & last time we were there I heard..shock of shocks..English! Plus, just strolling along the Promenade des Anglais is well, cool…
    Sorry to hear about your 2am lettuce eating..have to say that’s one of the worst things about international travel, jet lag!
    Look forward to more Nice..& wedding..updates, xx

    • July 27, 2010 at 8:32 PM #

      It’s a dream really and the promenade is cool. I agree. No worries re: the lettuce. I could eat a whole head without batting an eyelash, such is my love.

Leave a Reply

