Of mice and men…

Yeah, now I’m getting all literary and channelling Robbie Burns.  Such is my life.

My inspiration today is Robbie Burns’ poem “To A Mouse”.  I don’t feel mouse-like nor do I mean anyone harm nor does anyone mean to do me harm.  It’s just that for all the planning that can go into an event, such as moving across the big, blue sea, something is bound to mess with your schedule.

That pretty much sums up yesterday afternoon/evening.  D and I take it all with a smile as we are where we want to be: together and in France.  We are still with his parents and things are still moving forward.

It turns out that our stuff didn’t leave Montréal on the day we expected.  (Yes, our stuff was loaded on a truck, I assume, and driven to the port in Montréal.)  As a result, the 3-week long journey which should have ended on Sunday with a stop in Valencia, Spain before arriving in Fos, France on Monday was delayed by approximately 1 week.  A representative from the moving company called D yesterday afternoon to say that while they’re doing their best to keep the Aug 3rd delivery date, it may be difficult as the container will most likely arrive on that day.

Seeing that we’re moving during one of the busiest times of the year — the ports in Marseille and Fos are swamped during the summer months — even though the ship with our container may arrive on Aug 3rd, if the port is too busy, the ship may detour to other ports to make other deliveries before returning.

So, we told the moving company that we can delay for another week.

The Jamaican in me says “no worries” and “no problem” because really, there is no problem and I have no worries.  Which brings me to the following:  “don’t worry about a thing, cause every little thing gonna be all right”.  I quote one Robert Nesta Marley who sang about the truth as he knew it.

And indeed, I did rise with the morning sun!

Tags: , , ,

Categories: changes

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Of mice and men…”

  1. July 28, 2010 at 5:54 PM #

    Another version of the Burns is John Lennon’s “Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans.” (Also attributed to others…)

    And yes, every little thing is gonna be all right. Those three little birds said so! 🙂

    Best as you get everything worked out, Tanya!

Leave a Reply

