My feet tingle

No, this is not a good news story folks.  My lovely flip-flops, the pair I bought at Decathlon earlier this year, make my feet tingle and swell.  It wasn’t a good tingle either.  This was a burning-tingling sensation that would last all day and well into the night.  I would go to bed with tingly swollen feet.  It drove me nuts.

At first I thought the tingling and swelling had to do with the heat.  Y’know, you follow your muscat with a few glasses of rosé for lunch all combined with the heat could make you retain water.  That was my logic.  Then, I thought perhaps it was the fact that I’ve been leading a sedentary life: sitting on a plane, sitting on a train, sitting in the car, sitting at the table. Monday afternoon, however, I got up from the table — I was doing some work for D — and was about to slip on my flip-flops when it dawned on me.  My flip-flops were to blame.  As I walked to the bedroom I looked closely at my flip-flops.  Etched in the sole are the following words, words which may not surprise you:  Made in China.

My flip-flops are no longer on my feet

Yup.  Uh-huh.  That’s right.  Now, I was a little worried.  I’m not saying that you will suffer the same fate with your made-in-China shoes/flip-flops/whatever.  I’m saying this pair of harmless-looking flip-flops were killing my feet.

My not-so scientific test confirms this too.  Monday, I wore said flip-flops.  This resulted in the usual tingling and swelling.  Yesterday, I chose not to wear the flip-flops.  My feet are tingle-free and more normal looking.  Today, now that I’ve gone without my flip-flops for two days in a row, my feet are themselves again.  Relief.  (I’m also happy to know that the swelling wasn’t due to water retention or alcohol consumption!)

I seriously can’t believe it though!  I’m a little disappointed as now I no longer have a comfy pair of flip-flops to use by the pool or to use if I have to walk to the Super U or the marché

Anyway, D says he will write a letter to Decathlon and some other person/group who takes care of this kind of stuff here in France.  I think that’s nice but really I just want a pair of flip-flops.

Tags:

Categories: footwear

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “My feet tingle”

  1. nancy
    August 2, 2010 at 5:53 AM #

    HELLO TANYA,
    i will share my favorite flip flops with you—very hard to find now because they stopped making THIS style, but honestly this is ALL i wear —rain or shine,,hot or cold—casual or dress….try ebay for MERRELL MAX….no tingles…
    good luck! (hope we dont wear the same size!)
    nancy

    • August 3, 2010 at 10:51 AM #

      Hi Nancy! Thanks for the tip. I’ll try ebay. Worst case scenario, it means another shopping trip. That’s the story I’m going to use anyway! 😉

  2. August 3, 2010 at 9:55 PM #

    oh, so how are your feet now?

    There’s an old lady in our road who goes to Carrefour twice a day before each meal so I often cross her path and have a quick chat.

    Not so long ago she looked down at my feet and said about my shoes and asked if they were made in China. She had great concern if they were, I didn’t know but she told me never, ever to buy shoes that are made in China. She couldn’t remember why (bless) but apparently there had been something on one of the French channels about it.

    Did D get to write to Decathlon? Will be interesting to hear about their response!

    • August 4, 2010 at 11:07 AM #

      My feet are doing great now. I still haven’t replaced my flip-flops so I’m left with sandals and an old pair of D’s slippers. Oh well…

      Yeah, that whole “made in China” thing was big news in the US a few years ago. A woman (I think) had bought a pair of flip-flops from Walmart or some store like that. She ended up with what looked like chemical burns on her feet. Shortly after, more people reported the same thing and they tied it to the flip-flops from the store. The store pulled the product within the week I think. It wasn’t a huge case; I believe fewer than 10 people had problems. It turns out that the offending flip-flops contained something like 10x the amount of chemical in them. (I don’t know what the chemical is or why it’s in the flip-flop.) I believe there are photos of the woman’s feet on the internet but I’m a little squeamish so I didn’t look.

      As for Decathlon, he hasn’t written yet (as far as I know anyway). Yeah, it’ll be interesting to see what, if anything, comes of it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Taste of Garlic » Tanya in Transition - September 6, 2010

    […] at first Tanya put down her itchy feet to… “following a few glasses of muscat with a few glasses of rosé for lunch all […]

Leave a Reply

