All fruits ripe

With Jamaican Independence Day two days away — “my island in the sun” celebrates 48 years of independence on Friday — I figured I would throw out a little Jamaican saying to tell you how I’m doing.  “All fruits ripe” means everything is just great or all is good.  Yes, all fruits ripe: the sun is shining; the rosé is chilled; and it’s soon time for a petit apéro before dinner.

D and I headed out to Ménerbes this afternoon for a coffee.  This wasn’t our first time in Ménerbes.  The last time we visited it rained but despite the rain we had a lovely afternoon that afternoon.  Today, the only thing that was different was the sunshine.  We had big blue skies and clear views of Mont Ventoux.  (I think I’m hooked on that beast.)

Me, Menerbes, and le Mont Ventoux make three!

We stopped for a coffee at the same salon de thé as the last time.  As we’re fully in the summer season, operation had moved down the hill to a big open space that is now being used as a terrace.  Conversations in German, English, Dutch, Italian, and French could be heard broken every now and then by a passing car on the road below the hill.

Menerbes

A tree grows in the village

If you’re familiar with Peter Mayle or if you’ve read A Year in Provence (Une Année en Provence) you may already know that he lived in Ménerbes.  It’s an interesting read and certainly provides some insight into la vie provençale.  (Piglet:  if you have the time you can hit Ménerbes, Lacoste, and Bonnieux in one trip/day.  Bonnieux is the largest of the three, if I recall correctly, and worth a stop.)

Route d'Apt, on the way back to Coustellet

After our coffee and conversation in Ménerbes, D and I headed back to Coustellet.  He had a few calls to make. 

We stopped at the Super U in Coustellet to get some provisions for the weekend.  We leave for Toulon on Saturday morning for a weekend with friends.  As it will be a celebratory weekend of sorts we certainly won’t show up empty-handed.  Four bottles of rosé plus some apéro snacks and we’re good to go.

It was then that I took a stroll down the “let’s bake something aisle”.  (That’s the aisle with all the cake decoration stuff/Vahiné stuff.  I love this aisle.)  Now, I’m not picking a brand and saying it’s the best brand because I’m not.  I’m aware that I know nothing/little about brands here in France.  I am open to suggestions.  If you have favourites and/or tricks of the cooking trade please share!  What I do know is that there is more to be found in the little Super U across the street than what I could find at my local grocery store in Toronto.  I mean, I can’t recall finding vanilla beans in my regular grocery store.  I’d have to head to a speciality store or some up-market grocer for that kind of thing.  I am in food heaven!

La mamie just asked me what we should have for dinner tonight.  It’s going to be light, given the options.  We settled on a killer salad — potatoes, some lettuce (which the French call salad which is just so weird), tomatoes, and anchois (anchovies).  Hmm, apéro to start and Morbier and chèvre to finish…?  All fruits ripe indeed!

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: joy

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

7 Comments on “All fruits ripe”

  1. August 6, 2010 at 12:18 PM #

    I love morbier cheese too 🙂 Okay, to avoid repeating myself for the future, I actually LOVE all cheese!

    So, it sounds as if you’re going to have quite an alcoholic weekend then!

    I’ll be interested to know what flour you use in France for baking, I’ve had dreadful problems making my cakes rise since living here! The only one I can cook successfully is the yoghurt cake (made with yoghurt). I love the French supermarkets too, but I now love the UK supermarkets also, although not for fresh produce but for all the sauces and cheating things such as lazy chilli pepper which you can buy.

    Bon weekend!

  2. August 6, 2010 at 12:19 PM #

    ps. I read A Year in Provence a long time ago and it was good, if not a bit rosy for me.

    I looked up Menerbes on Mappy and it’s just an hour’s drive from my Beaux-Parents place so I’ll be convincing Hubby to take a day trip with me 🙂

  3. August 6, 2010 at 3:04 PM #

    Oh you have been having some wonderful adventures! I love the photos in this and the previous post… What a beautiful part of the country.

    Happy Independence Day, Jamaica! We are glad you are a beautiful, independent country. May your people live long, happy lives and prosper much. 🙂

  4. August 8, 2010 at 9:58 AM #

    Glad to hear that all is right, or ripe, in the world 🙂 I’ve been a fan of A Year in Provence myself, although we haven’t made the trek to Ménerbes yet, looks beautiful & quite worth an afternoon coffee stop.
    Hope you are enjoying your weekend in Toulon & Happy Independence Day!

  5. August 8, 2010 at 3:06 PM #

    Ah, les anchois! I never liked them until I came here. Why is that? As for baking, that’s interesting. I’m not sure the French bake as much as we do. Why should they, with all the beautiful patisseries. Piglet, use #65 flour which you can find in specialty stores. It seems to work the best. I use #45 to make sauces and actually haven’t found a really good use for their all purpose #55. Here’s a link that might help.
    http://www.davidlebovitz.com/archives/2006/02/american_baking.html
    I hope you had a great Independence Day.

    • August 14, 2010 at 5:22 PM #

      Mmm, love anchois but I can understand why you took so long to embrace them. They aren’t the same in North America, I don’t think.

Leave a Reply

