I’ve got a secret

This may surprise some of you.  Those who know me well already know  my little secret:  I absolutely hate bugs!  I really cannot tolerate them.  Yeah, yeah, you cite reasons and advantages of having bugs around but I, personally, could do without all most some of them.

My most hated list includes the following.  (This list is not exhaustive as I haven’t encountered every insect/bug around.  And no, the critter hate list is in no particular order.)

  • spiders
  • flies (yeah, like your common house fly)
  • earwigs (ever since I heard the story/myth that they will crawl in your ear and trample on your brain they’ve been on my critter hate list)
  • daddy-long-legs
  • roaches (I cannot stomach these vile creatures)
  • spiders (yup, worth mentioning again)
  • moths (because they’re really not that smart)
  • anything that crawls/flies and looks really unattractive (ladybugs don’t fall into this category because I think they’re cute)
  • mosquitoes
  • wasps (and bees too…sometimes)
  • black flies
  • fruit flies (they have a short life span but they multiply like nobody’s business)

Are you wondering why I bring up this hate list today?  It’s simple really and can be summed up by four letters:  HVAC.

Yessireee Bob, HVAC.  (That’s Heating, Venting, and Air Conditioning to those of you not already in the know.)  HVAC has a way of separating you from Mother Nature.  I spent 30 years of my life living in Toronto and for most of those years I benefitted from a wonderful HVAC system.  It was everywhere:  at home; at work; at the shopping centre; at the doctor’s office.  It’s even on the subway.  (You Parisians would LOVE it!!!)

Thanks to HVAC bugs and I rarely crossed paths.  Sure, there were times when you had to open a door or a window and in would swoop a house fly but this was rare.  And remember, it was Toronto so these occurrences were weather permitting (aka the 3 months of the year when it’s warm enough… Yes, yes, slight exaggeration; it’s really 3 months and 2 days.)  Come winter time and most of your bug problems would vanish (unless you have a serious infestation of roaches or something equally gross).

Those of you who know me and have already done the math you’re probably wondering “what about the other 8 years of your life Tanya?”  Simple answer:  I was a little girl living in Jamaica.  I didn’t know that bugs and other critters were so gross.  In fact, my older brother and I used to catch grasshoppers!  Yes, catch them and with MY BARE HANDS!!!  We also used to throw salt on slugs too.  (Maybe we were demented, I don’t know but it was fun.  I remember one time we caught a toad…)  We didn’t have AC in Jamaica.  We’re talking the 70s dude.  If you wanted some cool air Mother Nature provided that, just open a window.  And yup, in would swoop a few flies…

And this all brings me to Nice.  (Funny how life brings you full circle, huh?)  We don’t have AC; there’s enough of a breeze blowing through to keep us cool…which means that at least one window is open…which also means that flies, moths, bees, and any other critter can easily find their way in.  And I’m dealing well with it.  I’m making my peace with these little critters.  I’m not exactly sharing my space but I’m learning to ignore them.  (And no, screens on windows or “patio doors” don’t seem all that popular here.)

I think the pigeons are my biggest bane these days.  (And Mom, we watch the bats at night too!  Yes, BATS!!!)

Tags: ,

Categories: staying in

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “I’ve got a secret”

  1. August 21, 2010 at 2:06 PM #

    I don’t have phobia for bugs…thank goodness because of that no AC, no screen thing here. But I’m really NOT fond of the scorpions. They’re not supposed to be dangerous…they just look so….dangerous. Luckily, I’ve never come across and snake. Now THAT would send me through the roof!

    • August 22, 2010 at 5:15 PM #

      Scorpions? Oh no, no, no…they’re definitely not for me. I’m getting used to the outside coming in and really, with all this lovely sunshine I have no reason to complain!

  2. August 26, 2010 at 9:11 AM #

    erwwwkkkk, I hate bugs too Tanya!

    Can you get D to fix you up some mossie net on a wooden frame and place them in the windows? My Hubby did this for me here so I could have the bedroom windows open whilst asleep as I cannot sleep with the A/C on? You can get the mossie net pretty cheap from places like Casto and then he just needs to make a wooden frame the size of the window and staple the net on. The frame then slides into the window and can be removed whenever you want but protects you in the meantime. Just an idea!

    • August 29, 2010 at 12:02 PM #

      That would be an idea but if you could see the size of the windows here. Actually, there are only 2 real windows; the others are porte-fenêtres and I think he would kill me if I came to him with such a suggestion. Maybe I will, after he’s had a few drinks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

