Go west young man…

The title of today’s post was inspired by the Village People’s “Go West” that’s now bouncing around in my head.  This was then followed by thoughts of the quote (or paraphrase) “go west, young man”.  I decided to look up the quote to see who had written it.  Turns out there is some confusion surrounding who actually first said/wrote this quote.  Was it Horace Greeley in 1850 or was it John B.L. Soule in 1851?

Regardless of who said it first D and I will be following the advice.  Tomorrow, we go west!  Now, D is on the phone.  This is a conference call that started at 11 am.  “Oh, it’ll be a quick 30 min call” he said before shutting himself in the “office”.  Um…yeah, it’s now 1:56 pm and he’s still talking.  This is the conference call that won’t end.  During this time, I was surfing blogs and looking stuff up.  (There’s some seriously interesting stuff out there.)

I just realized that I need to pack.

I have one huge challenge:  how many (different) pairs of shoes will I need for this trip?

These shoes didn't make the cut!

You may think that’s a crazy question and the answer simply could be “as many as you need Tanya!”  Yeah, until you have to run to catch a train/bus/tram because your beloved says so!  I digress…  This is a serious situation however as I have perhaps 4 events for which to ‘dress’ for.

1. The wedding – that’s a no-brainer; my shoes are at my mother’s house!

2. My brother’s 40th birthday party – do I want to go as a diva (3″ heels baby) or be confident in my flats?

3. D’s birthday dinner/celebration chez les parents this weekend.  (I’ll probably wear my slippers!)

4. Any other event that may crop up during the trip.  (Okay, so I’m pushing it here but it’s my blog and my suitcase!)

I’ve already decided to sacrifice one pair of fierce shoes my mother bought me.  (Thanks Mom!)  My mother is wonderful and when I asked her to buy me a pair of brown shoes, she did so with no questions asked.  The problem is/was that I wanted a pair of brown flats to wear to work.  Oh well…  At least I come by my love for diva-3″ heels honestly!

I took  little break and put some stuff on the bed.  They’ve made the cut and things are looking good.  I have a few tops, two pairs of jeans (one of which I’ll wear tomorrow), the required undergarments and personal hygiene items, and three pairs of flats.  There.  That’s it.  Diva heels will stay…for now.  Actually, I have reconsidered in the space of 2 seconds.  I’m going to pack my black sandals.  The universal, goes-with-everything looks-good-on-your-feet ever-comfortable black strappy sandals.  Done.  That’s it.  I’m packed!

Now, if only we could have lunch today…  It’s almost 2:50 pm as I type and he’s still on the phone.  Geez…

Tags: , ,

Categories: packing

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Go west young man…”

  1. September 3, 2010 at 10:57 AM #

    I sooo hate the sacrifices we have to make when we travel and shoes can be the worst cuz they get heavy and take up a lot of space.

    • September 5, 2010 at 8:54 PM #

      Well, we were/are pissed ‘cuz a while back Air France changed their 2x 23lb limit to 1x 23lb (for checked luggage). Um, hello! Okay, maybe I could fly with another airline but then I wouldn’t get yummy champagne on the flight. So, I sacrifice a pair of kick ass shoes for some booze. Hmmn…

  2. September 4, 2010 at 11:36 AM #

    LOL, love this post! That is exactly one of the first things I think about as well before I travel…which shoes? Oh the trials of life… 🙂 Think they need to allow us a separate carry-on just for our strappy wonders… 🙂

    And those are some fierce shoes, nice! (great color btw)

    Happy travels, looking forward to more! xx

    • September 5, 2010 at 8:57 PM #

      I know. Women should get an additional 5 kg or something for shoes. I’m just saying…! (It doesn’t count if you use the extra weight for orthopedic shoes! Am I being mean?)

      Thanks by the way! When my mother showed up with them…oooh, I just about fell off my stool.

      More coming my friend with (hopefully) some lovely pics to show off!!!

Leave a Reply

