From CDG to YYZ…and some other stuff too!

Jet lag is a b*tch!

Seriously, jet lag is no joke.  I went to bed shortly after 11 pm ET on Tuesday night only to wake up at 5 am ET.  There I lay, wide awake, wondering how I was going to fall asleep.  I tried counting sheep.  Then, I started obsessing on the music for the wedding.  It seriously was not fun.

What was fun though was watching the silly little man (I’m judging him not by his stature but by his attitude) who tried to give a talk down to the kind KLM woman at Toronto’s airport.  Mr. Not-so-Nice Guy was seriously demented.  He went off on the KLM woman because Air France was delayed in getting everyone’s checked luggage from the aircraft to the terminal.  He figured that Air France was taking a back seat to KLM because the KLM flight was being boarded and loaded at the same time.  (What he didn’t know was that the KLM flight had left an hour before our flight landed.)  I just wanted to tell him that he was being a dumb-ass.

Getting to Toronto from Roissy was crazy and part of me really hated the flight.  My flight was originally scheduled to leave Paris at 1:35 pm but at noon, when we should have been boarding, the nice Air France lady announced that there was an issue with the cleaning of the plane.  Uh-huh.  Okay.  Then, after we boarded, the nice Air France captain announced that the air traffic controllers didn’t want us to leave until 2:55 pm.  Riiiight.  There we were, all of us, stuck on an Airbus because of striking air traffic controllers.  I comforted myself with two glasses of nice champagne, thank you very much.

It’s back to wedding planning stuff too.  I’ve been fussing with my hair over the summer and I have finally decided what to do for THE day.  I have a look in mind and all was cemented in a lovely bridal house in Port Credit.

With my wedding dress on and the seamstress pinning and tucking the dress I looked at myself in the wall mirror and thought “hot damn! I am one gorgeous woman!”  I say it with little to no vanity and, in fact, I could almost say the dress works miracles.  It’s a mighty fine dress and I can’t wait for D to see me in it.  If D’s eyes don’t bug out of his head when he sees me then…well…  My concern, however, is my shoes.  Specifically, the left shoe.  It comes off when I walk.  Should I be worried?

I am also worried about my “something old” and “something blue”.  That’s the sound of me bowing to tradition.

Other than the few items on my Obsession List that are making my brain work overtime, things are progressing well. 

The lucky number today is 16.  I am super excited and can’t wait!

Tags: ,

Categories: wedding plans

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “From CDG to YYZ…and some other stuff too!”

  1. September 9, 2010 at 9:54 AM #

    I have to admit that not once in my life have I ever “looked at myself in the wall mirror and thought “hot damn! I am one gorgeous woman!””

    But then, I’ve never tried on a wedding dress!

    With regards to the shoe problem, have you considered Flip Flops? They can be found quite cheaply now, as it is the end of the season!

    Best wishes for the wedding.

    All the best

    Keith

    • September 10, 2010 at 4:51 AM #

      Oooh Keith, that would make for one interesting post! You, a wedding dress, admiring glances… Dare I add that this all takes place in the women’s loo…?

      Yes, I thought about Flip Flops but I am afraid the flip-flopping sound may be a little distracting! 🙂

  2. Sandra
    September 9, 2010 at 10:15 PM #

    Hey Tanya…you are killing me with the shoe thing. I am trying to picture you walking down the aisle and leaving your shoe behind (just like Cinderella did!) lol
    But seriously now, don’t worry too much about it…things will work themselves out as they always do in the end 🙂 All in all, you sound like you are well on your way to becoming a married woman very soon!
    See you soon 🙂

    • September 10, 2010 at 4:48 AM #

      I’m glad it made you laugh. I chuckled too but then worried (a bit) that the damn thing may fall off during the ceremony. Like really, how can shoes be larger than my already large feet. Geez… 🙂

  3. Emerita Emerencia
    September 10, 2010 at 3:57 AM #

    hey Tanya girl,
    take it easy. having a bubbly or any other drink does wonders for the nervous system, just kidding, but seriously, let others do the obsessing, you just chill and watch it happen. all you need is a good plan and a good back up plan. i am just saying, not that i know much about planning a wedding, so it’s easy for me to gab, right? wish you all the happiness in the world and when is the big day? i am afraid i missed that bit of info, or i just did not read it.

    i can’t wait to see pictures of you in that “hot damn i am gorgeous” kind of dress, lol

    take care,

    warm greetings from aruba
    by the way aruba is a popular honeymoon destination, so you think about it!

    emerita

    • September 10, 2010 at 4:52 AM #

      Trying to chill Emerita! Thanks for your kind words and yeah, the dress… I love, love the dress!

      As for Aruba, I’ll pass that on to Dom; we haven’t decided when/where to go yet! 🙂

  4. September 13, 2010 at 1:20 PM #

    Ahh, jet lag makes me crazy too…but sounds like you used your time productively, lol!

    Do we get to see any pre-wedding shots of the chosen hairdo…? Dying of curiosity over here 🙂

    All the wedding planning is so exciting, thanks for sharing it with us….I agree, waiting to see the photos of you in your dress. Bet I’ll say a few “Hot damns” myself 🙂

    Good luck with everything, so excited for you! xo xo

  5. September 15, 2010 at 1:45 PM #

    Soooo exciting! Can’t wait to see what hairdo made the cut.

Leave a Reply

