It’s a (wo)man’s world

It’s now T minus 9 days until our wedding day.  There are a few things that we still have to do but the important things have all been finalized. 

On Saturday, my sister-in-law and my mother hosted a lovely bridal shower for me.  There’s nothing like getting together with 14 like-minded women to discuss how we’re going to take over the world  talk about nothing, everything, and every subject in between.  Of course, it’s always nice to have a day that’s dedicated just to you and this was one such day for me.  The best part, however, was just being with these lovely ladies who all have such beautiful spirits and the strength that comes with being a mother, wife, sister, daughter, or aunt.  It was truly a wonderful way to spend an afternoon.

So, today’s post is dedicated to these lovely women:  Carmen, Clara, Colleen (who landed in Paris this morning, lucky girl!), Ivy, Jennifer, Karlene, Lisa, Madge, Melanie, Noelle, Sandra, Sarah, Tanya B, Tracy, and Tricia.  Thank you for making my day!

To the women who weren’t able to make it, your presence was missed!

Moi in the upper parking lot

 On Sunday, D and I headed out and played tourists in Toronto.  The weather wasn’t all that great — it’s Toronto in September folks — but the sun was out and I had my camera.

We spent a few moments at Casa Loma.  It was our stop as it was too early in the day to head to the restaurant for lunch.

For all the years that I lived in Toronto I’ve never stepped foot on the grounds of Casa Loma nor have I visited; I’ve only driven past it.  Sunday was the first time either of us had stopped the car and actually walked the grounds.  So, we took a few photos and enjoyed the sunshine.

At some point over the weekend the bridal salon called to say that my dress is ready.  What?  Are you really expecting me to post a photo of yours truly in her wedding dress?  No, you will all have to wait until after the 25th.  Of course, the real obsession has begun.  Before, I kinda chuckled at the idea of a dress waiting to be taken in and fit to my measurements.  Things have changed.  The seamstress has made her changes and lots of pins were used to get this dress to look the way it should.  This means there is no joking around with what I eat.  There is no turning back and any weight gain could be a problem.  (I laugh in the face of problems!)

Casa Loma

This trip to Toronto has also given me some hanging out time with my mother.  That has been cool although the search for the silver purse was driving me to drink.  (Yes, I know.  I already drink.)

D and I have Nice on our mind however.  Here, in Toronto, the talk on the news this evening was all about getting your furnace ready for *gasp* WINTER!  They can’t be serious.  I don’t recall getting ready for winter in September.  So, not only am I counting down to the 25th, I’m counting down to our return to Nice.

Tags: , ,

Categories: getting together

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

7 Comments on “It’s a (wo)man’s world”

  1. September 16, 2010 at 9:24 AM #

    And the weather is exquisite here right now! Can’t wait to see the pictures after the 25th. Enjoy.

    • September 16, 2010 at 9:31 PM #

      I know. D checked the weather in Nice last night. Suffice it to say that right now we’re on the wrong side of the Atlantic.

  2. Tuula
    September 16, 2010 at 5:04 PM #

    How nice to have all of that love & support in one room! Must be so exciting too…. can’t believe your wedding is just around the corner! Thanks for sharing the great photos of Toronto…& yeah, can’t wait for the wedding dress photos!…countdown begins 🙂 xx

    • September 16, 2010 at 9:32 PM #

      Thanks Tuula. It was a great afternoon! And yeah, we’re super excited here!

  3. Sandra
    September 16, 2010 at 6:35 PM #

    Hey girl…..excuse me but where was my name from your “dedicated list of women” from Saturday? (clearing my throat now…lol) I had a lovely time, thanks again 🙂

    • September 16, 2010 at 9:30 PM #

      LOL!!! I just KNEW I would forget someone. You don’t know how many times I went through the list. I couldn’t figure out who I missed. Sorry love. 😮

      I’m glad you were able to make it and I’m sorry you won’t be there for the ceremony/reception. Will see you before I leave.

      • Sandra
        September 17, 2010 at 2:09 AM #

        No worries, it happens! Yeah, I am sorry that I am missing your big day, but I am sure I will hear and see all about it via Facebook! Hope you have an amazing time and Congrats once again to you and Dom! See you soon!

Leave a Reply

