The search for the perfect dress

Photo courtesy of TLC and Say Yes to the Dress

I’m a sucker for sappy stories combined with romance, fashion, and some foolish female behaviour.  One of my favourite shows in this category is Say Yes to the Dress on TLC.

For those of you not in the know, Say Yes to the Dress takes place at Kleinfeld Bridal in New York.  Their website states that SYTTD “reveals the inner workings of the world’s premier bridal salon”.  The show focuses on how each bridal consultant works to satisfy each bride.  But, it’s more than that.  It’s about the brides and their families who visit Kleinfeld in search of the dress of their dreams.  It’s about fashion and style, about beads, lace, and yards of fabric.  It’s also about some crazy-ass behaviour too!  It makes for some good television.

Three types of brides make me chuckle while watching this show.  First is the fairy-princess bride.  This brides go to Kleinfeld with a vision in mind.  It’s the vision of a 6-year old.  They visit Kleinfeld’s with the image of a dress and plans they’ve had for their weddings since they were little girls.  I have to say that I shake my head at that thought.  At the age of 6, I was more concerned with running around with my friends, playing hopscotch, or just being a 6-year-old.  I wasn’t planning my wedding!  Getting married was for old people and I was 6.  Young, happy, free…and 6!  It’s unimaginable to me.  Really, anything a 6-year old thinks about a wedding dress is bound to be a fairy-tale.  That dream is way too hard to live up to and sometimes these dreams don’t come true.  And really, would you ask a 6-year old to plan your wedding?

This brings me to the second type of bride.  This is the I-don’t-care-about-the-budget bride.  This bride has complete disregard for her own money, her parent’s money, or her fiance’s money.  Yes, it’s true, wedding dresses generally don’t come cheap and I wouldn’t tell any bride to go vintage — it’s nicer than saying cheap and used — unless she really wants to.  This bride, however, makes me laugh.  She gets that deer/headlight look as though trying to will the holder of the purse strings to concede, to yield, to give in to the beauty of the dress.  She thinks the budget is a dare and it’s her goal to see by how much she can surpass this budget.  One episode had a bride whose budget was $3,000 — her mother was paying for the dress — but she wanted a $10,000 dress.  She didn’t end up with a dress.

Photo courtesy of Amy Kuschel

(I have one question for all these women:  what do you do with your $17,000 dress after the wedding?  You can’t put these couture dresses in a closet?  Or, can you?)

Now, here’s a question:  how many of you brought your fathers with you to pick out your wedding dress?  What is that all about?  That’s the third type of bride and the one that leaves me shaking my head.  It’s one thing to have your parents, your mother and your father, there to see your dress…BUT…it’s a totally different thing when your father insists on picking your dress!  Sure, your Pops may be holding the purse strings but you should also realize that you may end up wearing something you don’t like.  I like to call this bride the daddy’s-little-girl-bride.  She really wants to choose her own dress but somehow she can’t tell her father that she’s an adult.  Daddy ends up choosing a princess dress (for his little princess because he remembers how much she loved her fairy princess costume and she’s his little girl and he loves her) but she really wants that sexy little number that shows a little cleavage and hugs all the right curves.  Ladies, I don’t think there’s a father out there who would choose a “sexy little number” for his little girl.

I’m now 3 sleeps away from stepping into my own sexy little number of a wedding gown.  D and I can’t wait for Saturday and are looking forward to sharing the day with our family and friends.  There is one thing, however, that dominates our thoughts:  our apartment in Nice!

Tags: , , ,

Categories: getting married

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “The search for the perfect dress”

  1. September 23, 2010 at 9:43 PM #

    Nice post Tanya! I think I have seen that show once or twice…but also think I landed on the 1st type of bride, the princess, and then quickly changed the channel …think the word “meltdown” comes to mind!
    I agree, I can’t imagine shelling out that much cash for a dress…it’s about the day, your partner, friends & family, and making lasting memories. And I think all brides shine on their wedding day, no matter the dress….
    But, on that note, I’m sure yours will be spectacular!!! 🙂 So excited for you!
    Good luck with all the last minute planning & will be awaiting updates! xx

  2. Kat
    September 24, 2010 at 4:22 AM #

    but what does your dress look like? Looking forward to some photos of the great event and wishing you & D all the best on your special day and all the days that follow!

    • September 24, 2010 at 4:50 AM #

      LOL! That would be telling. All will be revealed in due time Kat!

      And the best to you too and your new little guy. He’s a cutie!

Leave a Reply

