Vintage Rolls Royce and Johnny Depp on our Wedding Day

It was the perfect day.  No exaggeration.  Seriously, it was a great day.  The best day!  I just love it when a plan comes together and so it did on 25 Sep 2010. 

The day before our wedding was a little rushed all because our plans for Thursday were hijacked.  We can’t control everything so we just let it all go and went with the flow.  We didn’t let these small changes upset us.  We pushed on and forward and continued with our day as best as we could.  Our plans included going to Didier’s on Friday to have drinks with our wedding party but, as is our way, we ended up having dinner too.  (I can’t go anywhere near Didier’s food and not eat!) 

A sneak peek into our wedding day!

We woke up on Saturday at our usual time and looked forward to starting our day.  And it was then that I gasped!  D turned to me and asked “What?  Did you forget something at home?”  I looked around a little frantically to find a clock and said “the F1 qualifying is on now!”  Ah yes, a typical Saturday morning for me and D. 

Our wheels for the day

Well, we got the usual stuff out-of-the-way: breakfast, Formula 1, EPL, and a quick check of our emails.  Then, it was time to get ready.  And, we were ready on time with no fuss and no pressure.  (Yes, we bucked the trend and got ready together meaning that D saw me in my wedding dress before the ceremony.)  We met D’s best man, SC, and his wife downstairs and jumped into the limo when it arrived.  My brother H and his wife N (who was also my matron-of-honour) were already in the limo.  As for our limo it was a 1959 stretch vintage Rolls Royce Silver Cloud.  What a beautiful car and we felt like VIPs!

From our hotel we went to the University of Toronto for our photo session.  It was a perfect day for photography: not much sun but enough blue sky to make for lovely photos.  We enjoyed working with our photographer and had a blast having our photos taken.  We only had one minor hiccup, which I brushed aside with a sip of champagne.  Our Rolls pulled up to the front of the restaurant — blocking one lane of traffic on Yonge Street on a busy Saturday afternoon! — and we entered the restaurant with big smiles on our faces.  

Me and D and our Rolls Royce

It was the perfect day with a short, sweet, and simple ceremony that reflected our personalities.  Our first act as a married couple?  A toast with sparkling rosé wine from Ontario.  Mmm, it was yummy and I have to admit that I didn’t stop at two glasses. 

Photo courtesy of Sarah Wiggins Photography

The evening unfolded as we had planned.  Our venue, Didier Restaurant, is one of our favourite places to eat.  The restaurant is all about being in France and things French.  There are coqs everywhere you look, in different colours and materials, and varying in heights and styles.  The restaurant is intimate, warm, and inviting just like the chef himself.  I will share more on my next Food Frenzy Friday with photos and details on what we ate on our wedding day.  

So, now we are winding down and looking forward to heading back to France.  We leave Toronto on Oct 3rd and will spend the week in Paris.  D has a few meetings to attend and I will re-acquaint myself with the city.  We will head south at the end of the week for a celebratory weekend with les parents. 

Me and my brothers

Oh, are you still wondering about the Johnny Depp reference?  Our driver told us that he’s had the pleasure of hosting many celebs in the same limo including one Mr. Vanessa Paradis.  Mmm, I do love me some Johnny Depp.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: getting married, wedding plans

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

12 Comments on “Vintage Rolls Royce and Johnny Depp on our Wedding Day”

  1. September 28, 2010 at 12:03 AM #

    Felicitations to you both. My best to you and all your days ahead!

  2. Anne D
    September 28, 2010 at 11:01 PM #

    Hi Tanya
    Congratulations on your big day.You look amazing and the groom is gorgeous too. I wish you both love and hapiness for ever.I enjoy reading your blog from my home here in Ireland.It cheers me up on a dull day. Hmm I always say “I wonder what Tanya is up to today!”
    Hope you have exciting times ahead.
    Anne

    • September 29, 2010 at 7:12 PM #

      Hi Anne! Thanks for the kind words and thanks for stopping by. It was a glorious day but we are just dying to get back to France! Only a few days to go!

  3. September 29, 2010 at 10:16 AM #

    Many congratulations to you!! I picked a good day to come and visit for the first time in a while. 🙂 Looks like an absolutely lovely day, and I am happy for you!

    And how cool that you got to ride in the same limo as Me. Depp! Oh lala!

  4. September 29, 2010 at 2:00 PM #

    Thanks so much for sharing this with us, you look really very beautiful and I absolutely love the car!
    I could use me some Johnny Depp too on any given day 🙂 A big congratulations to both of you!! xx

  5. September 30, 2010 at 1:34 PM #

    Ps. If you have time 🙂 there’s something for you at the petit france blog 🙂 xo

  6. October 1, 2010 at 12:24 PM #

    Congratulations to both of you! I adore the photos, you were a gorgeous bride disdonc!!! D looked good too!

    I wish you both many years of happiness together. Safe travels.

  7. Isabelle Miller
    October 1, 2010 at 9:39 PM #

    Felicitations!!! So happy for you, you look gorgeous in your pics girl!!!!! Coming from someone who’s been married for 5 yrs but in this relationship for 14yrs next week: it only gets better, richer, deeper, and more fulfilling with time as long as you know how to feed each other in all the ways you need to be fed:) Trust me… Hey, which part of France do you guys live in? My sister and her family live in Bordeaux, but used to live in Orleans, and Alsace before that. She’s an opera singer, you can look her up to see about upcoming performances if you’re into that and I could see about tixs if you like: Sharon Coste.

    • October 2, 2010 at 10:46 PM #

      Thanks Isa and congrats to you and Liam!!!
      We are in Nice but we do get around France and Bordeaux is on our list. And for sure, let me know about her upcoming performances! That would be totally cool!!!

  8. October 5, 2010 at 12:23 PM #

    You look stunning!!! Your dress is to die for! Love the hairstyle too.
    Cheers to you and your husband 🙂

Leave a Reply

