Baby, you can drive my car

I’m back.  Sort of.  I’m not in Paris.  I’m sitting in a hotel room in St Witz (pronounced ‘vits’) just north of Roissy/Charles de Gaulle airport.  But I am in France baby!

Getting comfy in row 15

D and I arrived at Roissy on yesterday morning.  We touched down 1 hour earlier than scheduled thanks to really strong tailwinds.  It was our first flight as a married couple and yes, we toasted each other with champagne.  Thank you Air France!  We also had a little bonus too.  It seems we were upgraded for this flight and were within kissing distance of first class.  Being tall people we were happy for the extra leg room and cushy leg rests!

And yes, I’m over the moon to be back in France but really we’re dying to head south.  Today, we will check out of this hotel room and check into another one in Paris.  This is what happens when you leave the hotel booking until too late and then find out that the Mondial de L’Automobile going on in Paris.  We couldn’t get a room for 4 days without paying 6,000 Euros.  (No, we didn’t pay 6,000 Euros.)  So, the punishment for tardiness is St Witz.  This mattered little as the jet lag pretty much ensured that we didn’t notice pay much attention to village of ladybugs that live on the ceiling of our room.  Village may be a slight exaggeration but so far I’ve counted 12 ladybugs in our teeny, tiny room.  Ladybugs are pretty much the only critters I can tolerate but this taking things way too far.  I hope they don’t reproduce as quickly as fruit flies.

We had a super good but simple dinner last night at the hotel here in the middle-of-nowhere France.  Our buffet entrée was followed by a simple entrecôte with a pepper sauce and fries.  Simple, I say, but it was pretty darn good.  So as not to go overboard, I had a tisane after dinner.  I’ve given up the pastry/dessert bit if only until le papy‘s birthday and the celebration for the return of les amoureux this weekend.  I think I need to cut back this week as I suspect that a lot of champagne will be consumed on Saturday.

Right now, I’m trying to decide whether to go back to bed or to pack our stuff for the move this afternoon.  As I’m not sure what D’s schedule is this week I may want to think about what I want to do while I’m in Paris.  Our next hotel is near Bastille so I’ll have no trouble finding a place to eat.  (Food is always on my mind.)  D and I think we will go to the Paris Auto Show.  It’s perhaps not the girliest thing to do but some of those concept cars are truly sexy.  And sexy is always good.  The shine on those cars do make me wonder what kind of shampoo/car wax they use.

I’m not sure what else is going on in Paris this week.  I have the time to look stuff up today.  For now, however, I’m just going to take things easy.  What are your plans for today?

Tags: , ,

Categories: le retour

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “Baby, you can drive my car”

  1. October 5, 2010 at 11:06 AM #

    Tanya – welcome back to France (and thanks for warning us!)

    Good luck with the celebration for the return of les amoureux this weekend.

    You’ll know that it was a success if you can say “I feel like a pig pooped in my head” the next morning!

    By the way, that’s an old Breton saying!

    All the best

    Keith

    • October 11, 2010 at 3:16 PM #

      Ah Keith, a warm welcome as always! 😉

      Nice saying by the way. I have to incorporate it somehow into a conversation one of these days!!

  2. October 5, 2010 at 1:25 PM #

    I second that – welcome back! You two look trés cute on the plane by the way… Hope you make it to the car show – I agree…sexy is always good 🙂

    Good luck with the move newlyweds, xo

  3. Tanya and Gary
    October 5, 2010 at 8:10 PM #

    aww, beautiful couple!

Leave a Reply

