Nice: the port and the Promenade des Anglais at night

Monument aux morts (Place Guynemer)

Last night, D and I decided to go for a walk to the port.  We’d never walked to the port from the apartment so we weren’t sure of the distance.  We soon realized, much to our pleasure, that the port was maybe a 30-minute walk from home.  The best part  of the walk for me — other than being with D — was the wonderful boulangeries and pâtisseries we passed along the way.  The joy of all joys, to have such resources within minutes of home!  (Rest assured, our daily boulangerie is still the same but it’s nice to supplement things.)

The weather was absolutely beautiful last night requiring me to wear only my jean jacket over my tank top.  I threw on an orange scarf just to jazz things up.  After our walk, the scarf was soon unnecessary as it really was comfortable enough, even by the water, to do without it.

We had taken our little camera with us but quickly came to regret not taking the larger one too.  We did, however, get quite a few good photos of the port while the sun set.

Sunset at the port in Nice

From the port we followed the sea around to the Promenade des Anglais.  The sight of the Promenade at night is totally worth seeing.  This is where we really regretted not having our second camera.  Maybe next time.

Fishing boats share the port

From the Promenade, we decided to head home.  We took our usual route through vieux Nice and cours Saleya.  It was close to the dinner hour and quite a few restaurants in the cours had patrons seated with an apéro or two on the go.  We heard English (both American and British accents) and German being spoken so tourists are still en ville; however, the restaurants are not nearly as busy as they were just a few short weeks ago.  This will be our advice to our family and friends: if you don’t care to swim now is the time to visit Nice.  The weather is still warm but the streets and restaurants are far less crowded than in August.  We didn’t closely investigate the restaurant prices but most prix fixe menus (in cours Saleya) were 16.50 Euros.

Promenade des anglais at night

La tour Bellanda

Nice is a very easy city to get around with monuments, museums, and other points of interest in proximity to each other.  If you have time on your side, walking the city is definitely a treat.

Tags: , ,

Categories: getting out

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “Nice: the port and the Promenade des Anglais at night”

  1. October 16, 2010 at 3:59 PM #

    Seeing these pictures really brings back memories. I only did three nights in Nice and it was one place that I never had a lot of interest in until I actually went there. I fell in love with this city and I do plan to return one day and spend more time there!!!!!

    have you gone to Eze????

    • October 16, 2010 at 6:18 PM #

      I love Nice and am looking forward to discovering more.

      No, I haven’t spent any time in Eze or any of the other towns on the coast (except Cagnes-sur-Mer and Villefranche). They’re all on my to-do list!

  2. October 19, 2010 at 11:41 AM #

    A 30 minute walk with loads of patisseries and boulangeries on the way sounds like a perfect stroll (I like to make lots of stops on my way from A – B, it makes a walk a much more pleasant experience I think)

    • October 20, 2010 at 8:02 PM #

      Oh, I totally agree. I figure I’m burning the calories on the walk so I can afford one or two little treats!

  3. April 28, 2011 at 11:52 AM #

    be happy

Leave a Reply

