George Clooney, firefighters, and the butcher make me emotional

Actor George Clooney - 66th Venice Internation...

Image via Wikipedia

I love George.  As in George Clooney.  I’ve been slightly obsessed by him since, well, forever.  Remember him from the Facts of Life?  I didn’t lust after him back then.  Perhaps I was too young to appreciate what he had going on.  I lust after him now just like I lust after Daniel Craig and Clive Owen.

But the closest I’m going to get to George Clooney is via the Nespresso cafetière D and I got as a wedding present.  I call our new little ‘toy’ George.  Slick and sophisticated with beautiful lines, inviting you to touch.  That’s how I feel about George (the man and the machine).  Prior to George’s (the machine) arrival into my life, D would make some coffee to go with our breakfast tartines or pains au chocolat.  Sometimes, he would warm a little milk to make a little cloud of foam to top our coffees.  For me, it was a treat.  This has all changed now that George is here.

George does what I need him to do:  make me some coffee and make the foam to go with it!

With George, I get to choose.  In the mornings I usually have a milk-based coffee so that I can ease my way into the day.  In the afternoon I will have an espresso with a little amaretti cookie.  Mmm, George (the machine) is my new love.  George (the man): if you’re reading, you can make my coffee any day!

George (the machine)

With thoughts of George foremost in mind I stepped out into the sunshine this morning for a quick tour of the market. I was soon stopped by a welcoming sight:  5 firefighters in uniform.  Hot diggity-dog!  I’m still not sure what was going on but that mattered not.  What mattered were that they had nothing better to do than smile and say bonjour to me as I passed.  It had me wishing that I had at least put some lip gloss on.

With a little sigh I left the firefighters behind and headed to Vieux Nice.  Before reaching the market, I stopped at my usual boucherie to get some lamb, pork, and (what I hope is) turkey breast.  Aside from the cashier there wasn’t another woman in sight.  It was just the cashier, me…and all that meat.  (I really mean meat.  It’s a butcher shop after all.  Were you thinking something else?)  For all you single lovelies out there looking for a man head to a butcher shop.  Yes, I had a little flirt on with the 3 men behind the counter.  Hey, I might be married but I’m not dead.  Plus, as a niçoise it’s my right to flirt.  To do nothing would be downright rude!

All that mild flirting certainly put a spring in my step.  I made it to the marché where I picked up some veggies and then lingered a little in the flower market.  As I made my way back home thoughts of firefighters and George Clooney were replaced by thoughts of two of my favourite men and how much I miss them.

I do not regret packing up and moving to Nice but I’ve never been this far from my family.  Ever.  I was reminded of the distance this morning when I listened to a song my younger brother posted on his blog.  The song is ‘I am Lonely’ by Johnny Clark.  I’m not claiming to be lonely at all and the song itself had no impact on my mood.  The song is a beautiful song and K-Reigh loves music and often goes old school — like way-back-before-he-was-born old school — to express his mood.  K-Reigh would come home from work, put a 45 on to play — yes, he plays 45s — and pour himself a glass of rum.  Sometimes he would call H, our brother, to recount a story or to share a joke.  And I miss that.

So, while I lust after George, Clive, and Daniel I send my love to H and K-Reigh: I miss you.  See you soon!

Tags: , ,

Categories: everyday stuff

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “George Clooney, firefighters, and the butcher make me emotional”

  1. November 26, 2010 at 5:45 PM #

    You are too funny, Tanya. Sounds like I need to head down to Nice. Today it’s snowing in Paris, and not one smiling fireman in sight. Get your flirt on, girl! It’s totally our right!

    • November 27, 2010 at 1:24 PM #

      LOL! I think it’s the warmer weather that brings the flirt out in us. (They were cute too, those firemen. *sigh*)
      That said, it’s cold in Nice today. While we don’t have snow they got quite a bit in the alps, just 2 hours or so away.

  2. November 27, 2010 at 10:44 AM #

    I miss you too. Thank you for this, it put a smile on my face. Has anyone told you that you’re pretty good at this writing thing?

    • November 27, 2010 at 1:28 PM #

      I *heart* you!
      I’m glad you liked it. I missed those cleaning weekends with you and your music playing…
      Thank you for the sweet words. That makes my day!

  3. Tuula
    November 29, 2010 at 5:11 PM #

    Everyone needs a little George in their life – of course for some of us, we wish it was a lot of George 🙂

    I’m with you on the lonely thing – hard to be so far away with friends & family. France is a beautiful place but doesn’t change those feelings of missing our loved ones… thanks for sharing Tanya 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Taste of Garlic - November 30, 2010

    […] at Tanya in Transition also wins this week’s Interesting Kitchen Appliance Award for her post about her coffee […]

Leave a Reply

