He’s no Keith Richards…and that’s a good thing!

Keith!  Keith!  Keith!

I’m chanting his name as though he’s a prize-fighter.  Perhaps he is.  The knocks to his head may explain a thing or two about the crazy behaviour.  Check out his blogs here and here; you’ll understand what I mean.  Still, I chant his name:  Keith!  Keith!  Keith!

In all seriousness, I’m chanting his name if only to say thank you for passing a lovely award to me.  It feels so good to be loved by people you’ve never met, even those who cheer for that other team in London.  (Cyber love is a good thing!)  And while this post is waaaay overdue — I’ve been a little busy — the info is still quite accurate.

In order to accept this award I have to share 7 things with you plus pass along this award (more on the passing along below).

1. I played the piano for 9 years.  It’s nine years I’ll never get back.  I had no dreams or visions of being a concert pianist but, as is the Jamaican way, every young lady learns to play the piano.  I tried quitting about 6 years in.  Yes, it took me a while to work up the courage to tell my mother to stop wasting spending wasting her money.  She wouldn’t have any of it.  She told me that I would regret not finishing.  What a load of poppy-cock!  Regret?  What I regret is all those books and sheet music!  What am I supposed to do with all that sheet music?  (I admit that I do have a serious love for Mozart and Vivaldi though.  Don’t tell my mother.)

2.  I ran a book exchange when I was in school.  Strange, I know, but true.  Y’see, I owned a lot of books.  I used to go to the bookstore at least once a week and I would buy at least 3 books each time.  And we’re not talking high-brow stuff either.  I would buy and read absolute rubbish.  It was my escape…and that of some of my friends.  I was a strict librarian too.  There was to be no folding of the pages and no reading in the bathtub.  A few years after I did the tally of how much I had spent on these books and, um, yeah, it was a lot of money.  A lot.  I’m talking Toronto-Paris return airfare with hotel for 7 days.  Huh.  I should have put that money into a GIC or something.

3.  I hate wearing socks.  Socks have to be the worst piece of clothing ever invented.  You perhaps think that I hate wearing a bra more.  You’d be wrong.  I have some wonderful bras, thank you very much.  Socks are just…strange.  I don’t like wearing pantyhose either although I have to admit that a funky pair of tights is right up my street.

4.  I used to dream about being an international spy.  Seriously.  I actively worked on my listening-talking skills (listening to one conversation while participating in another).  I considered studying lip-reading but found it a little too boring to go at it full force.  I think this came from all those crap books I read in high school.

5.  I have a huge fear of falling down stairs.  It happened once, when I was in high school.  Thankfully, the stairs were in my house and no one saw the fall.  I slid down a full flight of stairs and ended up on the floor by the kitchen completely winded.  It felt as though my lungs were stuck to my ribs; I couldn’t get any air into them.  Ever since that fall I tend to walk down stairs by the railing and very rarely in the middle.

6.  I am super competitive about the strangest things.  For example, in my previous life (before leaving my job and moving to France) I used to take public transit to work.  It was stress-free and I saved a ton on gas and parking.  As it is public transit and not Tanya’s Transit (which is a shame really), other Torontonians would be on the bus/subway with me.  My final stop was the end of the line and, of course, people would be waiting for the train and/or disembarked from the previous train.  Those same people who got off on my stop would be my competitors.  Little did they know that I would ‘race’ them to the office building.  Sometimes I would see a “competitor” about 20 – 30 m away, hurrying to get to the office on time.  It was my goal to get there before them.

7.  I have a phobia about public washrooms.  Some of you may be nodding your heads in agreement saying “yeah, me too!”  Unless you’re prepared to risk getting a bladder infection from holding it your phobia is not even close.  I’m not talking about port-o-potties here or the washrooms in the metro/subway/bus station.  It’s public washrooms in general.  Imagine my horror when on the road here in France and being ‘greeted’ by a hole in the ground.  No, no, and HELL NO!  I’d rather go on the side of the highway, thank you very much!

There.  Seven things about me you didn’t know before.  So, according to the rules of this award I’m supposed to pass this on to 15 other bloggers.   As if.

Keith: I do have 15 people but, seeing as you seem to know everyone, they’ve all been hit by you or someone you hit.  Tant pis I say.  And really, I’m a busy girl.  Between eating, drinking, and sleeping there isn’t much time left in my day!

So, in the holiday spirit, instead I wish all of you the very best for the holidays and for the New Year!

Joyeux Noël mes amis!

Tags: , ,

Categories: awards

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “He’s no Keith Richards…and that’s a good thing!”

  1. December 21, 2010 at 1:25 PM #

    OMG! Too funny! I used to RACE people as well on my walk to the subway stop in Toronto!! 😀 Is it a J’can ting? lol

    Great post!

  2. January 5, 2011 at 10:55 AM #

    I totally regret quitting the piano but then again, I didn’t have to suffer through nine whole years.
    And 1. I have a falling down the stairs fear too, it’s real and scary and 2. Your competition thing is hilarious because I do stuff like that all the time!
    Maybe we can be spies together? 🙂

Leave a Reply

