New year but same ol’ me

Taking a stroll on the lake

The Great White North.

Toques, canoes, and Tim Horton.

Yes my friends, my good friends, I’m in Canada.  Actually, I’m in Toronto being spoiled by my mother and trying to enjoy the winter weather!

D and I celebrated le reveillon with his family in Coustellet.  This wasn’t my first Christmas in France so I knew what to expect.  We indulged in oysters and la mamie’s escargot.  We toasted the holidays with a fine selection of wine and capped things off with a magnum of Pol Roger.  The turkey was divine but what capped the meal was la farce (stuffing) that la mamie had prepared earlier that day.  Can we say chestnuts?  Cheese, of course, followed our dinner and for dessert we had a traditional bûche de noël.

Christmas Day was our travel day; D and I took the TGV north to Paris and spent the night at a hotel at Roissy airport.  We arrived in Toronto on Boxing Day (Dec 26th) and were in time for Christmas dinner with my family.  The following day, D and I were off to spend a week at a lake-front cottage north-east of Toronto.

It was truly a winter wonderland.  We walked on the (frozen) lake during the day and at night we watched movies or chatted the night away.

After a week in the country, however, I am happy to be back in the city.  I mean, how long could you last without an internet connection?  Plus, I have quite a few people still to see before heading back to France.

Plus, until our return to France on the 17th D and I have some celebrating to do.  I’m talking about my birthday on the 15th.  We don’t have any plans yet but I’m happy that I’ll be home to share the day with my family.

And that’s how 2011 starts!

Tags: ,

Categories: getting together

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “New year but same ol’ me”

  1. Sinead
    January 12, 2011 at 8:23 PM #

    Welcome home Taiters! What lake was that picture taken at?

    I bet this trip will make you appreciate the weather in France a teeny bit more!

    • January 13, 2011 at 1:43 AM #

      Thanks Sinead!
      It’s Pigeon Lake, if I’m not mistaken.
      And yes, I appreciate and miss the weather in Nice!

Leave a Reply

