Still celebrating the new year

Despite the delay at the airport on arriving in Paris on Monday, 2011 started beautifully.  The same was true for 2010.

I don’t know how many of you plan or picture your year ahead but D and I started the habit of the year-in-preview in 2008.  We would look back at the good things that filled the year and then, at the end of the year, we would predict what improvements would follow for the year to come.  In fact, to help with this process D gave me a calendar in which I could write our memorable moments.  By 2009 the calendar was replaced by a book and in it I included trips we took together, our favourite places to eat, and interesting and engaging conversations we had with friends or family.  (The book has since been replaced by this blog.)

By November 2009 D and I were faced with another question: what if I could leave my job?  It was my take-the-money-and-run escape plan.  We were in New York for a romantic weekend away and my escape plan seemed to good to be true.  This escape plan came out of the blue but even without it we knew that 2010 was going to be a great year.

Little did we know that we would end up in France; it certainly wasn’t on our short-term list of goals.  The cherry on the cake of my escape plan was that my last day of work was my birthday.

2010 surpassed our expectations.  We travelled, met new friends and enjoyed the company of old friends.  We got married and we’re finding our rhythm in France.

And here we are: January 2011.

Yes, we did our year-in-preview at the end of last year…and you’re probably saying that none of what I’ve written here is groundbreaking news.  The talk in recent years has been about surrounding yourself with positive people, living a positive life, and giving thanks.  Nothing new, right?  I agree with you: nothing new.

You should also know that it is true what those “new age gurus” say.  My mother would say it this way: “you are the company you keep.”  In my case, I hated — yes, HAAAA-TED — my job, felt like crap, and had no clue how to get out of the rut that was my life.  I was basically a happy girl (despite the ripe ol’ 39 years, I’m still a girl) living a life that was lacking some serious fun.  I won’t go into the details but suffice it to say that once I got into the habit of enjoying myself, being with people who cared for me as much as I cared for them, and being thankful and grateful for what I have, I found that I enjoyed myself more, I found new people to love and to be loved by, and I had more to be thankful for.

So, exactly one year after taking the money and running all the way to France, I found myself in my mother’s kitchen.  It was my birthday on Saturday and I cooked dinner for my mother, my two brothers, and my husband.  It was a simple and good occasion, one that I was happy to share with a few of my favourite people.  The food was good too!

Tags: , ,

Categories: celebrating, getting together

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “Still celebrating the new year”

  1. January 20, 2011 at 9:25 AM #

    Joyeux anniversaire en retard, lady!! I LOVE that you have documented the changes that you have wanted to make in life and have actualized them! All the best for 2011!

  2. January 22, 2011 at 2:38 PM #

    What a great idea! Looking back and looking forward! Happy Belated Birthday. You are a joy.

  3. Sinead
    January 26, 2011 at 8:10 PM #

    This update put such a nice smile on my face. It’s amazing how life can change in the blink…and it sounds like you’ve got exactly the right attitude to get to “happy.” Happy 2011 Tanya…whatever adventures await you!

    • January 26, 2011 at 9:15 PM #

      Thanks Sinead!
      And to you and the family too: all the best for 2011!

Leave a Reply

