A time for firsts

I had to buy some moisturizer this evening.  While this may seem as a small item let me just say this: it was my first time seriously contemplating the moisturizers on the shelf.  And I felt like crying.  All this because my usual supplier (aka my mother) didn’t have my usual moisturizer at home when I visited.  (Perhaps I could have bought some at the drug store while in Toronto…perhaps…but if you know my story you wouldn’t even think of making such a suggestion.)

I stood there completely bewildered.  D took one look at me and said “take your time; I’ll be checking out the wine.”  Yeah, it was so bad he didn’t want to witness the carnage.

Between the brand names like L’Oreal, Nivea, and Dr. Sais-pas-quoi how was I to decide?  Anti-cernes?  Naw, I don’t need to worry about wrinkles just yet.  Or do I?  Should I be using it now before wrinkles become a serious problem?  Aren’t those just laugh lines?  Do I have patchy skin?  What about my T-zone?  Do I need to control oiliness?

Then, I made the error of reading the directions.  I’m supposed to use the toner and the night cream?  And the eye cream?  Oh, and now I need the special nighttime moisturizer with rejuvenating qualities?

The longer I stood there the more I began to scowl at the little tubes and tubs.  I could feel the wrinkles develop.  I was aging right there in front of the anti-aging creams.

I finally did end up with a tube of something that should do the trick.  I may even like it better than my usual tried-and-true brand.

But I’m ever so thankful I don’t need shampoo.

Tags: , ,

Categories: everyday stuff

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

10 Comments on “A time for firsts”

  1. January 25, 2011 at 10:54 AM #

    Tanya,
    It’s so true….and in French even more confusing. I do have to say that I am in love with the new Youth Code, or Jeunesse quelquechose, from L’oreal. You’re not as old as me so maybe your skin still makes your very own youth code but if you want to try it you have an endorsement.
    aidan

    • January 25, 2011 at 2:06 PM #

      Hi Aidan!
      I will have to look out for this product. I don’t know whether my skin could do with a boost or not. I’d better find out before venturing anywhere for a facial in France, non? I feel totally inept sometimes and standing there in front of all those creams and gels made me want to call my mother! 🙂

  2. Tuula
    January 25, 2011 at 6:10 PM #

    Ha ha…this is funny! Well, I just bought the “youth code” myself last week, lol! And it all is really confusing…but I have a feeling that you have *great* skin Tanya because I’ve been into the wash-toner-moisturizer routine for a long time now- not tres fun, but necessary for me, eh eh – can feel the wrinkles coming as I write this comment 🙂 let us know how it works out!

    • January 26, 2011 at 9:19 PM #

      You’re the 2nd person to mention this youth code. I must look it up now! And please let me know how this “youth code” works for you.

  3. January 25, 2011 at 7:26 PM #

    Belated Happy New Year Tanya!!!
    Funnily enough, I was confronted with exactly the same thing today! I have been buying the same face cream for the last four years but shockingly it had disappeared from the shelf today and I was desperate for some more… I just wanted moisturiser you know, nothing fancy!!! I spent ages and ages reading the boxes, thinking do I want this? do I need that?
    Let us know how you get on!

    • January 26, 2011 at 9:17 PM #

      I’ll keep you posted. Nothing like being forced into purchasing something to make you feel good.
      Well, I chose a well-known brand… We’ll see how it goes.

  4. February 7, 2011 at 12:31 PM #

    Finding French brand substitutes for tried and true products is always difficult! I can totally relate. I make my parents ship me boxes of American products, haha.

    • February 7, 2011 at 1:30 PM #

      I just read your post on “women’s troubles” and had a good laugh. Yes, finding a good substitute is a challenge. Thankfully, I didn’t run into the problem you did but still was quite concerned standing there in the Carrefour. Ah, the joys of being in France!

  5. March 1, 2011 at 1:27 AM #

    Oh my word!!! I had unpleasant visions and flashbacks while reading this post. At least you were able to read the instructions, when I move to Japan my first experience of buying face products was beyond bad..crying bad. I couldn’t read the language characters and the store assistance were not helpful at all. I ended up having to try several products, some of which caused some things to grow on my face I have never seen. I did end up finding a good product that worked but i still shudder at the experience i went through.

    • March 1, 2011 at 3:17 PM #

      Thanks for stopping by.
      Wow, I can’t imagine not being able to understand a language when so in need. My worst — if you can even call it that — was in Germany where I had no clue what was on the menu. I put off eating lunch just because I didn’t want to end up with cow brain or something. But your experience takes the cake! Good for you!

Leave a Reply

