Partner in crime

If you arrived here thinking that this is an article about crime, you’ll be disappointed.  Sort of.

No, this posting was inspired by the Stylish Blogger Award that SaraLouise bestowed on me.  And perhaps you’re still wondering what the award has to do with crime.  Well, I’m not talking about crime in illegal sense.  I’m talking about some of my favourite childhood memories…involving my first Partner in Crime (PiC).

Here, I stylishly recount 7 memories shared with H, my first PiC.

H (my big brother), at the ripe old age of 4 or 5, once ironed a handkerchief on my lap.  I was about 3 at the time.  I don’t remember the incident but I did grow up with an iron burn on my thighs.  You think I’m joking, don’t you?  I’m not.  We’re talking 3rd degree burns folks.  I’ll tell you this: H is pretty fierce with an iron.  If you want something ironed to perfection, he’s the man to call!

H and I had a human doll when we were little.  We would stack the sofa cushions to make a ramp.  We would then put our little “doll” in his stroller and push him up the ramp.  It was unfortunate that there was an opening at the back of the stroller because one day the “doll” fell out.  He started to cry and Mom made us stop.  I should tell you that the “doll” was my little brother K.

H almost burned our house down.  (This is almost an exaggeration as the house was made entirely of brick but still…)  Y’see, H had has had a little pyromania side to him.  Well, one day we he took a pack of our father’s matches and some newspapers and we went under the bed to “play with fire”.  Naturally, the newspaper caught fire and there we were — cute little 4 and 5 year olds — staring fire in the face.  I knew when to get out and I left H to handle things.  (And he did.  I can’t remember if he/we got in trouble though.  I don’t think so because we didn’t tell our mother the story until decades later.)

We used to have a German shepherd named Rommel.  He was a lovely dog and to this day I have a serious fondness for that breed of dog.  One of Rommel’s favourite activities was to run the entire width of the lawn when a car drove by.  We (H and I) decided that Rommel would make a good horse.  We put my skipping rope around his neck to make a sad excuse for reins and we sat on his back and waited.  And waited.  When a car finally drove by Rommel took off, sending us flying to the ground.  The reins were too long…and we’d never ridden a horse or dog before.

My brother K is über competitive.  Of course, H and I used that to our advantage while watching tv in the basement.  During the commercial breaks, instead of getting off our lazy duffs and getting whatever it was we wanted, we would send K.  We told him we would time him.  He always wanted to know that he had set a new record or whatever.  We eventually stopped timing him and just made up a number.  He seemed satisfied and it was a win-win situation…until he grew up.  Oh well…

H and I made mud pies one day when we were little.  The fact that we took the pots and plates from the kitchen was our first mistake.  The second was that we forgot to clean things up before our mother got home.  We were little and obviously our attention span wasn’t that big.  Mom was not happy.

One day, H and I had to walk home from school by ourselves.  I don’t know how far a walk we had; we were little and distance meant nothing.  I just remember that it was a hot day — we were still living in Jamaica at the time.  I also recall that I had a red knapsack.  Yup, I was aware of the colour red when we came upon a bull in our path.  Uh-huh, a bull.  I have no answers for you on that one.  The only thing going through our little minds were all the cartoons we’d watched where the colour red incited the bull into action.  Obviously, no one was gored (which is a very good thing).

****************************************

Oneika the Traveller

Fabulous Brenna

Opal blossoms

La Belle in France

Paris at my feet

If you fine bloggers would care to continue on I’d love to read what you have to write.  You can pick whatever topic moves you.  Give it a whirl!

Tags: ,

Categories: awards, PiC

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

11 Comments on “Partner in crime”

  1. Oneika the Traveller
    February 11, 2011 at 1:19 PM #

    Awww!! Thank you so much! I am honoured. Now you’ve got me pondering who my partner in crime is!! I think I’ll write a post on the same subject.. 🙂

    • February 11, 2011 at 7:07 PM #

      LOL, you can pick a different topic. Sara Louise did it on her fave b-days…so, whatever moves you.

  2. February 11, 2011 at 6:07 PM #

    I’m stumped! what a challenge! I’m liking “h” already! nice little ditty this is.

    • February 11, 2011 at 7:08 PM #

      Oh, he’s a great big brother. My little brother is wonderful too but, sadly, he was on the receiving end of a lot of our games/pranks…poor thing! 🙂

  3. February 13, 2011 at 9:34 PM #

    This post had me laughing so hard! Thanks for sharing.

    • February 14, 2011 at 10:23 AM #

      Thanks Faith. I enjoyed walking down memory lane when I wrote it! 🙂

  4. February 17, 2011 at 12:14 PM #

    You are such a tattletale!!!

    Lovely little anecdotes. You three sound like a whole lot o’ trouble.

    • February 20, 2011 at 1:17 PM #

      Oh, I’m not telling tales out of school. These stories have already been shared with the parents…after we were too old to get into trouble!!!
      And yes, the 3 of us did have a great time growing up!!!

  5. February 23, 2011 at 12:13 PM #

    I can’t believe he ironed on your legs… OUCH!! Your post made me smile thinking of all the evil kenevil stuff my brother and I used to do when we were little 🙂

    • February 23, 2011 at 2:46 PM #

      Oh yes…lol! I was looking at the remains of the scar just this morning. Memories…
      @Kerry: the winery is Engel (in Orschwiller). Their Auxerrois is delish and paired w/ choucroute…yumm!
      @Viajera: it was no Caribana but it was still fun to see!

  6. March 18, 2011 at 9:16 AM #

    Hello Lady!!

    I finally posted my version of your partner in crime post… Check it out! Thanks once again for the award! 🙂

    http://oneika-the-traveller.blogspot.com/2011/03/7-things-you-probably-shouldnt-know.html

Leave a Reply

