Having my cake

Paris is for lovers.

And for those who love cake!

As is usual during our trips to Paris I have the days to myself.  I generally decide in advance, through Google searches, direct recommendations, and re-reading blogs, how I will spend my free time.  So, for the two days that I had to myself on Tuesday and Wednesday I knew what I was going to do.  I was going to eat cake.

After the recent cupcake disappointment I was looking for Paris to redeem herself, at least where American-style bake goods are concerned.  I chose Sugarplum Cake Shop.

On their website they say that they’re a “genuine bona-fide American Coffee Shop” with “plenty of elbow room”.

As I’d already had my afternoon coffee I didn’t get to try their coffee so I can’t vouch for it.  And, as it was absolutely packed on Tuesday afternoon when I arrived, well, elbow room?  I had to elbow my way through the coffee shop to place my order.  Those were the least of my concerns however.  I had to choose between the cakes, cookies, and brownies behind the glass. 

I selected the raspberry/strawberry layer cake with cream cheese frosting and paired it with a pot of rooibos tea.

At some point while eating the cake I thought to myself “would it be wrong to have another slice?”  Seriously.  The cake was good.  It was very good.  The three layers of cake were separated by a layer of frosting and strawberries.  Of course, it was all covered in frosting.  You would think that all that cream cheese/buttercream would be very sweet.  It wasn’t.  The Sugarplum fairies — that’s how I think of them now — were judicious in the application of the frosting.  The frosting was there as a beautiful accessory to a lovely cake.

Now, any researcher worth her salt wouldn’t be swayed by one lovely cake.  And, as I like to be thorough, I figured that I needed to try another cake.  Next up was their popular and best seller carrot cake.  (Before you think I’m a gourmande, I went back on Wednesday afternoon for round two.)

I’m not a huge fan of carrot cake mainly because my mother used to make carrot cakes and carrot muffins a lot when I was younger.  (My older brother makes a mean carrot cake by the way, which has rekindled my appreciation for this American classic.)  I succumbed to the carrot cake the Sugarplum fairies offered and selected a different rooibos as my beverage.

My experience on Tuesday had set my expectations for round two.  I was not disappointed.  It was three layers of carrot cake with the requisite cream cheese frosting.  It was very good.  The cake on its own was very good and, like the strawberry/raspberry goodness I’d sampled the day before, the icing was just lovely.

Unfortunately, I sampled only those two cakes.  My eyes feasted on the cookies and brownies and scones behind the glass.  My sole regret was not indulging in their pear-ginger galette!

Being at Sugarplum Cake Shop was like being in a coffee shop in Toronto.  Customers were greeted with a “hey there”, which made me chuckle because “hey there” as a greeting in France is un peu bizarre.  (You can actually tell who the French customers are from the English expats.  The French customers generally don’t react to the “hey there” which makes it even funnier.)  The most North American thing about the shop however is the giggly chatter of the Sugarplum fairies.  It is in stark contrast to the elegant yet sometimes reserved surroundings found in some salons de thé in Paris.

Speaking of tea, you can choose from different types of organic teas.  Ditto for the coffees.  They also make their own lemonade and I think a fresh batch of iced tea was being made while I was there.  Imagine yourself sitting outside on their patio enjoying a slice of cake and some lemonade.

So, if you’re in Paris or you’re planning on going to Paris, get thee to Sugarplum Cake Shop

Sugarplum Cake Shop

68 rue du Cardinal Lemoine 75005 Paris

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: dessert, Paris, zen

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

10 Comments on “Having my cake”

  1. Oneika
    March 4, 2011 at 11:41 AM #

    I love your writing in this post!! Now I’m salivating and thinking of heading out to my local dessert place in Hong Kong to get me a big honking piece of carrot cake… LOL. Thanks for the recommendation, will definitely make it a priority to go try out this place in Paris!

    • March 4, 2011 at 8:34 PM #

      I know. We used to have a dessert place in TO but then they shut down. What’s a girl to do when she needs some good dessert? 🙂
      You have to; it was worth it. I like good cake. It doesn’t have to be fancy or anything, just good. And there, they have some good cake…and tea!

  2. March 4, 2011 at 2:17 PM #

    So happy you liked it! Have been there 2wice and have eaten the pecan toffee things, the rasberry cake and 2 servings of carrot cake so far! You are so right about the frosting…..you would have expected it to be soooo sweet but it just the right amount. Nothing beats the casual warmth you are greeted with for real.

    • March 4, 2011 at 8:35 PM #

      I did; thank you for putting me on to them.
      Let me get this right. You’ve been there twice and eaten all of that? Here I was feeling guilty about my thoughts of having two slices in one sitting. Good for you!!! 🙂

  3. March 5, 2011 at 5:04 PM #

    Oooh, I love cakes, cupcakes, all baked goods. I’ll have to add this to the list! XO Laura

  4. March 7, 2011 at 1:07 AM #

    I am having serious cake cravings right now!
    If I can tear myself away from Pierre Herme’s macaroons next time we are in Paris, I think I’ll have to check this place out! Sounds delish!

    It was lovely meeting you on Saturday – I hope we can catch up again soon.

    In the meantime, I have tagged you in a post – hope that’s ok!
    http://istheresuchathingastoomuchcheese.blogspot.com/2011/03/whoever-holds-conch-gets-to-speak.html

    xx B

    • March 7, 2011 at 11:44 AM #

      It’s seriously a nice place to grab a slice of cake and some tea.
      It was great meeting you too! We drove by your hubby’s company last night on our way back from my in-laws. It made me chuckle (for some weird reason).

      Oooh, thank you for the tag. I’ll get right on it…after I figure out what to make for lunch!

  5. March 7, 2011 at 4:49 PM #

    I so need to go there. Glad our cupcake catastrophe did not deter you for venturing forth. Intrepid reporter! Sugarplum has been on my list forever – I just haven’t worked up the energy to go across the river. Some day 🙂

  6. March 8, 2011 at 12:27 AM #

    Aaargh! You’re making me CRAZY right now!! I LOVE cake! 😦

Leave a Reply

