Feeding my sweet tooth

One of the things I love about blogging and about Twitter is connecting with people I would have never connected with before.  Most of the people I follow fall in one or two categories: expats and foodies.  One such person is Jamie Schler from Life’s A Feast.

I follow Jamie primarily via Twitter and so I know when she’s posted a new recipe.  And really, that’s what I’m after: new recipes.  The added bonus are the stories that precede each recipe.  Her posts are engaging and the recipes make me want to pop into the kitchen and bake something.

One recipe/post in particular caught my eye and stomach way back in November.  It was Jamie’s Espresso Brownies with Spike Ricotta Swirl.  After reading the post and recipe I was smitten.  I immediately tweeted Jamie to let her know that I would make these brownies in the near future.

Well, the near future is 4 months but finally I found the time to get busy in the kitchen doing something other than cooking lunch/dinner.  (Next up, probably 4 months from now, will be a lemon tart.  I’ll let you know how it goes.)

If you’re not familiar with the recipe take a quick look at the post and tell me what you think.

It’s a pretty straightforward recipe, right?  Yeah, that’s what I thought too while I was getting the ingredients together and making sure that I was ready to go.  There are two things that Jamie neglects to mention however.  First, you will be severely tempted to eat the batter before putting it all in the pan/oven.  She doesn’t mention that anywhere.  It was sheer torture to leave the melted chocolate & butter combination alone but the ricotta-amaretto filling was another layer of torture I didn’t need.

The second thing that Jamie doesn’t tell us is how hard it will be to leave the brownies alone once you’ve taken the pan out of the oven.  In the recipe she writes “allow to set ideally overnight or at least for several hours to allow the flavors to mellow.”  What?  Leave the brownies alone for several hours?  I had to ask myself if she was crazy. When I told D that we had to wait several hours the crestfallen look on his face nearly broke my heart.  He asked “why?” and I said because that’s what the recipe says.

Well, you should know that we didn’t wait several hours; we waited exactly 2.5 hours.  And the brownies are worth the wait.

These are not your PTA/hand-out-to-the-neighbourhood-kids brownies.  No sirree Bob.  These are decidedly grown-up brownies meant to impress your MiL, your best friend and/or your love.

This is one of the reasons why it takes me 4 months to bake something.  First, I would be tempted to eat a piece/slice/slab after every meal, breakfast included.  Definitely not good for the waistline.  Second, living in France makes it easy not to bake.  Why go to all that effort when the pâtisserie is a 5 min walk away?

But, there are times when I feel like expressing myself and baking is one of my favourite modes of expression.  And it’s then that I truly understand how wonderful and beautiful life can be.  It was the smell of chocolate, rum, and amaretto in my kitchen.

Yes Jamie, life is a feast!  Thank you again for sharing.

Tags: , ,

Categories: dessert

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

9 Comments on “Feeding my sweet tooth”

  1. March 15, 2011 at 2:08 PM #

    *Groan* You are killing me! And Appleton in the mix? Divine!

    • March 15, 2011 at 2:59 PM #

      I know. My younger brother would probably die to know that I used the Appleton 12 year old to make brownies! Totally worth it!

  2. March 15, 2011 at 2:17 PM #

    Oh you are so funny! So sorry I made life so difficult and now I am wondering how in the world I waited for the brownies to set. Did I? Really? And yes, sometimes it is worth gathering the ingredients and baking even though we here in France are surrounded by patisseries? But, then, when have you ever seen brownies like these baked by the French? Hmmm? I am thrilled you loved the recipe and your write up now makes me want to bake them again! Thanks for the shout out as well as the link. I surely need to follow your blog (and you) much more closely!

    • March 15, 2011 at 2:58 PM #

      LOL. They were definitely worth the wait so it wasn’t that big a deal in the end. And no, I have never seen brownies like these anywhere in France. They are absolutely delish. My husband and I thank you.

  3. March 15, 2011 at 3:57 PM #

    Oh, they sound soooooo good! You have so much more patience than me. I’d be ‘well, just a little square now can’t hurt. Then I’ll have a big square once the several hours are up.’

    • March 15, 2011 at 5:09 PM #

      D keeps me in line or I’d be sneaking little bites every now and then!

  4. March 15, 2011 at 4:30 PM #

    ooh boy, if this tastes as good as it sounds! According to my calculation…Amaretto+chocolate=heaven no?

    • March 15, 2011 at 5:08 PM #

      Definite heaven. That amaretto/ricotta swirl is just magic with the chocolate. Check out Jamie’s site for more inspiration. I read and drool because there is only so much exercise/walking I can do.

  5. March 19, 2011 at 1:48 PM #

    Oh man, these look soooo good and my tummy is rumbling in appreciation.

    Next time you make these I’m inviting myself over! x

Leave a Reply

