Paris in the springtime

Today is my last full day in France.  I leave for Toronto tomorrow afternoon; D heads back to Coustellet before joining me in Toronto next week.  The only upside to travelling to Toronto on my own is that I will have a week to catch up with my family and friends before D arrives.  Initially, we were supposed to fly to Toronto together and spend two weeks there.  Plans change and we adapt.

It was a busy few days in Paris.  Oh, not for me as I don’t have much to do in Paris except pretend to be a lady of leisure.  Of course, I took it easy and I enjoyed the sunshine and spring-like weather.  (I already know that I’m not headed to spring-like weather in Toronto.)

I did get out a little yesterday as I wanted to check out the craziness that is the Galleries Lafayette.  I roamed the ground floor of the mall all the while ogling the handbags and scarves for sale.  I spotted a wicked hat that would be a perfect for a garden party but the line up was so long and all the shop assistants were busy that I figured the hat wasn’t for me.  Instead, I made my way upstairs, took a quick look at the swimsuits, before heading to the top floor for lunch.

After lunch, I headed outside for more sunshine and warm weather.  Along my walk I caught sight of the Sacré Coeur Basilica so I snapped a shot.  As a treat I headed to  Sugarplum for a slice of cake and a spot of tea.  (I’m so predictable.)  I left early enough to avoid the rush hour crush on the métro and to grab a quick nap before D returned to the hotel.

After a quick change we headed off to dinner.  D wanted to take me to an oyster bar on Avenue Wagram.  In typical D fashion he hadn’t noted the address; he only knew it was on Wagram.  Was it above or below the intersection where we stood?  He had no idea.  So, we decided to have dinner at La Brasserie Lorraine, another oyster bar at Wagram and Ternes.

Our decision turned out to be a wise one.  We started with three Gilardeau n° 5 before moving on to a filet de bar doré plancha with a tortellini filled with leeks. For dessert we both had a Grand Marnier soufflé.  It was all so good, so yummy.  The service at the restaurant was very attentive without being familiar.  In typical Tanya fashion, I noted the address (and found the restaurant’s website).

Today, we have nothing on our agenda.  D will continue to work from the hotel.  After lunch, we’ll probably hit the shops to pick up a few things for family in Toronto.

I miss France already but will be back on April 10.  My sweet mother will be with us on this return trip.  It will be her first time in France and I can’t wait to show her around.  We have only three days in Paris and we’ll take her to Versailles — I’ve never been either — plus a few of the usual sights.

I’m excited for her!  Her first trip to Paris will be in springtime.  What could be lovelier?

Tags: , , ,

Categories: getting away, travel

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

11 Comments on “Paris in the springtime”

  1. March 24, 2011 at 2:11 PM #

    Sounds awesome (the meal, your trip and Paris) Very jealous having to slum it here down south 🙂

  2. March 27, 2011 at 12:57 AM #

    Sounds so very fun!!
    Jealous that you’re going home to Toronto, though- I miss it so much! I can’t wait to go back this summer. Will you be there in August when I’m there?!
    Have a safe flight and a great trip back home!

    • March 28, 2011 at 6:46 PM #

      I can’t say that I miss the winter weather… 🙂
      I’m not sure if I’ll be here in Aug but ya never know.

  3. zoie
    March 28, 2011 at 12:40 PM #

    hi,

    I have just read all your blogs. I fell out of love with france ………..but your blogs are starting to make me like it again. Your stories are so funny and entertaining.
    🙂 Zoie

    • March 28, 2011 at 6:51 PM #

      Hi Zoie!
      Now, that would be a story: why you fell out of love with France. Thanks for stopping by and for reading. I try to keep my blog entertaining and light!

      Cheers!

  4. March 28, 2011 at 3:54 PM #

    Have a great trip Tanya. How much fun to be able to show your mom France when you return. Bring her down to Aix en Provence for a cuppa! I’m still smarting from missing the chance to meet you.

  5. March 28, 2011 at 6:45 PM #

    I hope you have a splendid time with your Mom!! I adore Paris in the spring – so sunny and bright with that bit of chill in the mornings. 🙂

    • March 28, 2011 at 6:52 PM #

      Hi Krista!
      We can’t wait. We just hope the weather is sunny and bright!

  6. March 29, 2011 at 9:48 PM #

    Yeah, momma in France! My parents were over the moon with their first European trip, and we dragged them everywhere! Nice!

  7. March 31, 2011 at 4:17 AM #

    Oh, I love that picture!

    I tend to forget other countries have spring right now. I can’t believe how cold is it still in Ottawa.

Leave a Reply

