Tip #82: How to avoid rude Parisians

The weather was unusually warm in Paris last week and it seemed like the entire city was outside.  The Champs Elysées was packed with happy tourists and relaxed Parisians basking in the sunshine.  I can understand why people travel to Paris in the springtime.

What I don’t understand is travelling to Paris and leaving common sense at home on a shelf.

Let’s say that you, your big sister, and your mother arrive in Paris.  You decide to take les cars Air France from Roissy to Charles de Gaulle Étoile.  But you are not satisfied.  You want the bus driver to take you somewhere else.  Sure, there’s a route map posted but you want to go somewhere else, somewhere not on the map.  Because you’re a tourist.  Because you figure you have the right.  Because you’re on vacation so all thinking stops.

Don’t be surprised when the rude French bus driver talks about you en français with the rude French bagagiste right there in front of you.  Oh, you know they’re talking about you because you took that conversational French class a few years ago.  Plus, they keep pointing at you and shaking their heads and mumbling something about les touristes?  Parisians can be so rude!

To save yourself some time and a lot of headache remember to pack your common sense.  It does help.  Plus, you’ll reduce your risk of meeting rude Parisians that way.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Paris, tourists

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “Tip #82: How to avoid rude Parisians”

  1. fan
    March 28, 2011 at 7:15 PM #

    I know what you are talking about. my last visit to Paris was in November 2008, I pay the naughty Parisian absolutely no attention, and continue to enjoy the city that I love so much Paris! Oh La La..I enjoy your blog. thanks

    Fan

  2. Tuula
    March 28, 2011 at 8:54 PM #

    Yikes Tanya, no fun at all! Boo to those mean Parisians, hope you had some extra large cupcakes to make up for it, enjoy your travels about town!

  3. March 29, 2011 at 5:07 AM #

    I have spent a few holidays in Paris and have found many very helpful and courteous Parisians – the few rude were way out-numbered by the tres jolie!

    • March 29, 2011 at 7:58 PM #

      Hi Dianne!
      I have to agree with you. While my post was a little tongue in cheek, the rude Parisian does exist. So does the rude Canadian/American/Brit/Aussie etc. Your photos on your blog are gorgeous Dianne. Thanks for stopping by.

  4. March 31, 2011 at 4:16 AM #

    Don’t worry about it too much. I go back to France to visit once in a while and I usually pretend I don’t speak much French in Paris. Parisians treat me like an idiot but a *foreign* idiot, which is better than a “non Parisian” idiot in their book 😆

    • March 31, 2011 at 5:19 AM #

      It doesn’t bother me at all. Plus, I was more amazed at the three women than at the bus driver and bagagiste. Bienvenue en France is what I say so let them bring all their French attitude. I’m ready.

Leave a Reply

