Canadians

The sun is out but it’s cold.  I’m not in Nice or Provence or even Paris.  I’m in Toronto.  The weather at this time of the year isn’t the only thing that differentiates a Canadian from the typical French man/woman.

If you’ve ever wondered what Canada or Canadians are like here are a few tips from Jeff Foxworthy.

If someone in a Home Depot store offers you assistance and they don’t work there, you may live in Canada.

If you have switched from heat to AC in the same day and back again, you may live in Canada.

If you can drive 90 km/h through 2 feet of snow during a raging blizzard without flinching, you may live in Canada.

If you know all four seasons — almost winter, winter, still winter, and road construction — you may live in Canada.

If you find -2 degrees Celsius a “little chilly”, you may live in Canada.

If the speed limit is 80 km/h and you’re going 95 km/h and everyone is still passing you, you may live in Canada.

And my favourite…

If you design your kid’s Halloween costume to fit over a snowsuit, you may live in Canada.

Tags: ,

Categories: Canada

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

7 Comments on “Canadians”

  1. Sinead
    March 29, 2011 at 8:40 PM #

    LOVE IT! Yes, how many of us (and now our kids) had the puffiest costumes around because we were trick or treating when it was snowing out! Thanks for the (very desperately needed today) laugh Tanya!

    • March 30, 2011 at 12:09 AM #

      I know, puffy snowsuits really took away from the princess costumes.
      Glad you enjoyed it!

  2. March 29, 2011 at 9:22 PM #

    Hey, wait a minute! You Canadians can’t go stealing our Minnesota jokes! I still suffer from childhood trauma because my princess costumes (over my snowsuit) always made me look like the Michelin tire guy in drag!
    Here in Aix, I’m out and about with no coat and spent the afternoon in the square and then on the terrace. Then talked to my sister and found out they still under snow. Yikes.

    • March 30, 2011 at 12:13 AM #

      LOL! Hey, blame Jeff Foxworthy…but I believe the same jokes apply on both sides of the border. You’re killing me: Michelin man in drag. We’re bundled up here in Toronto so I can’t wait to get back to Nice and enjoy the warm sun.

  3. March 30, 2011 at 3:22 AM #

    Man!!! I love this!! Might have to steal it for my blog!!

    At least the sun is out!! It’s grey here EVERY DAY in Hong Kong… and to add insult to injury, it’s not even warm!!

  4. March 31, 2011 at 4:18 AM #

    Are you kidding? -2C is hot, it’s shorts & sandals weather! 😆

Leave a Reply

