Love and happiness

I sometimes wonder if some of my friends think I’m a nut.  I usually choose to be happy and positive.  Even the smallest things can put a smile on my face.  The little red cardinal I saw this afternoon made me race for my camera.  There he was, hopping around my mother’s garden.  It was such a lovely red against the remaining snow.  Somehow, it made my afternoon.

Later, I went out for dinner with a friend I hadn’t seen in a few months.  Our conversation made my evening.  I learned that she was finally embarking on her own journey.  She had decided that it was time for her to take her life into her own hands and not leave things to fate or to her bosses.  For far too long she felt that she had little to no control of her professional life, that she would forever be pushed into roles that weren’t suited to her.  Talking with my friend was so relaxing and so positive; it wasn’t always like this between us.

And this got me thinking about relationships in general.  My move to France has changed me in subtle ways and given me time to think.  I’ve also come across some really interesting and wonderful blogs.  Some of my favourite blogs are listed in my blog roll.  There is one blog, however, that isn’t.

Wife.Bride.Life. is a blog that I read every now and then.  For me, it’s like catching up with a friend I haven’t seen in a while.  I check in to see how K is doing, what challenges she has overcome, what stories she has to tell.  I sometimes feel like I’m snooping on K’s blog but it’s a blog and if she didn’t want her story out there she wouldn’t have written a blog, right?  Anyway, when I started reading K’s blog, the first post I came across was about her huge personal loss:  the death of her baby girl.

Each of K’s post touches me.  I silently cheer for her as she battles to overcome her challenges.  And that’s the thing about challenges.  You can overcome them…but often, when we’re in the midst of the challenge we can’t see the end.  We’re either so focused on the task at hand to foresee the end or the challenge is too personal or too painful that looking ahead is out of the question.  K fell into the second category I think.

And she is coming out on the other side and it’s beautiful to read.  Her most recent post, Progress, put a smile on my face and on my heart.  The post doesn’t contain any insight into K herself.  In fact, the content isn’t about her nor is it really written by her.  What is absolutely beautiful, however, is what the post means.  I don’t know that K could have written this post last year.

Perhaps it’s the coming reunion with her husband or perhaps more mundanely it’s time.  Perhaps it’s both.  Whatever the reason I celebrate the progress, the happiness, and the love.  And that is what I wish for all of you.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: life

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Love and happiness”

  1. helena
    April 8, 2011 at 4:47 PM #

    Hy,
    u read K´s blog every day and i read yours : ) we all have our favorite ones 😉

Leave a Reply

